Chocolate Cookie Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I loved how the icing required no cooking, and it had a wondeful fluffy texture. I didn't feel it had the strongest chocolate flavor, however, and tasted too "sugary". I melted two squares of unsweetened chocolate and whipped it in - the flavor improved greatly and the texture was not compromised. I think next time I'll leave the cocoa powder completely out and just use unsweetened squares. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I used this frosting for cupcakes. I added 2 additional tbl of milk to get the right consistency. Frosting is not too sweet and just right. I will never purchase store bought too (like a previous rater said). Thanks for the receipt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This icing went great with sugar cookies, I left out the cocoa powder and added an extra tsp. of vanilla. Also about 2 tablespoons more milk to get the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
This is just fantastic! I am here in Norway and often get a craving for good old buttercream frosting. I used it for a devils food cake and I thought it not only tasted delicious but looked really nice too. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This is the best icing I have ever tried! It taste just like the Betty Crocker's Chocolate Icing! =D I will definetely recommend to anyone who needs an icing recipe! Everyone out there quit searching for chocolate icing this is the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Calabasas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Delicious frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonrisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
Perfect! I needed a basic vanilla frosting recipe and couldn't find one with good reviews. So I took this one and ommitted the cocoa then added one extra teaspoon of vanilla as suggested by another reviewer. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sioux
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
really easy to make, and quite tasty. i also used melted chocolate instead of powder and had no problems with the results..thanks will definitely be using this in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sioux

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This is wonderful! Made the One Bowl Chocolate Cake on this site and topped it off with this frosting....yummy! This is the best frosting ever!!! It is also very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
I picked this recipe because I tried to make some chocolate chip cookies from a box, which was a big mistake because they came out very bland, and because they were so bad I decided to make bars out of them instead of cookies. So I was looking for a very chocolatey frosting specifically for cookie-bars. When I followed the recipe exactly as written, I loved the texture, but barely tasted any chocolate at all. It didn't even look chocolatey-- just very light brown. After adding *several* squares of baking chocolate, it's just okay. It's better than no frosting at all, but not really what I had in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROOKSANDBRIANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder Junction, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Piqua, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States