Chocolate Cookie Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2015
I was complaining at work about store bought icing, I don't like the waxy ness of store ought, A co-worker suggested to make my own. She said it was so easy, and when I make it to add a tbs of sour cream? Sounds odd right... She said her friend had her own restaurant and that's what she does. So I picked this recipe to try... WoW! I thought it was great, I did add the tbs of sour cream like she said. I also used this recipe to make vanilla buttercream frosting, I used the sour cream in that as well. I do like the vanilla better, but that's just my preference. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelbynme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patchogue, New York, USA
Living In: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
LOVE! This is now my go to chocolate frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
Easy recipe to whip up and it's acceptable if you're in a pinch for some frosting , but I thought it was a little too sweet and it didn't really have that rich chocolatey flavor I was after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I always have way too much leftover frosting so I appreciated the smaller yield from this recipe. I used 3 heaping tablespoons of cocoa and generously measured the vanilla. This was plenty chocolatey for our taste. Great on cinnamon/chocolate cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I love this recipe! it is fast and easy to make and doesn't require a lot of ingredients.I added a little bit of extra milk and it was the right consistency for me.I would suggest leaving out the cocoa powder and replacing it with lemon juice/zest, lime juice/zest, peanut butter, almond extract, peppermint extract, and orange juice/zest.it does not make as much frosting as it looks though since the butter, vanilla and milk dissolve the confectioners sugar and cocoa powder.This goes well on chocolate chip cookies.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This is my go to chocolate buttercream frosting. I add more cocoa powder and milk (or heavy cream) depending on what I am making and the consistency I want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I follow this recipe exactly and it turns out perfect every time. Even though it's pretty simple, I have had several requests for the recipe. Thank you so much for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Perfect as is. I used this on a cake I made for Easter, it was the "dirt" & I tinted some coconut green for the "grass". Best chocolate frosting ever! For people that said it wasn't chocolatey enough, mine was very yummy. Try using Ghirardelli cocoa powder. It is hands down, better than any of the others out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Delicious! This was amazing. We all loved it. I left out the cocoa powder so it was vanilla instead of chocolate which made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States