Chocolate Cookie Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This is a fantastic frosting recipe, especially since I just moved and am without an electronic mixer. I halved the recipe to make half vanilla and half chocolate. For the vanilla, I doubled the extract in it per other reviews. For the chocolate, I used Hershey's Special Dark Chocolate Cocoa Powder and the taste was incredible, perfectly chocolaty. I ended up putting the frosting in between two peanut butter chocolate chip cookies that came out a little on the crispy side to make a sandwich of sorts. They taste fantastic! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Eh, this was very lightly chocolate-flavored. That's OK, that's what I wanted for the peanut butter cupcakes I made from the recipe on this site. But I can see how folks would be disappointed if they're looking for something hershey-flavored or even darker. I was slightly disappointed in the amount of frosting, I made two dozen cupcakes and was piping the frosting on, and even though a few of the cupcakes had been eaten without frosting, this batch made barely enough to pipe the rest. So the '24' servings shown would have been *very* thinly frosted cupcakes or rather small cookies. Eh well, I thought it might be too little going in but I didn't have any more powdered sugar than called for or I would have doubled it. Anyway, I think next time I would double the recipe for the full batch of cupcakes, and maybe add a little more cocoa powder if I needed a heavier chocolate flavor. I might toss in a dash or two of salt as well, as I really like salt with chocolate. This was quite a sweet frosting as well. Not really picking faults, you understand, just describing the result so that others will know what they're getting into. The texture was good, it was nice for piping without adding any extra milk beyond what was called for. If you are looking for dark chocolate, seek elsewhere. This is very lightly chocolatey, very mild, good for a mild-tasting cookie or cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Perfect texture and flavor, especially with the dutch processed cocoa and Mexican vanilla! It was only enough for 20 cupcakes, so next time I make the frosting, I will change the portions a touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I give this recipe 5 stars. I used it to frost a cake and it crusts perfectly. It was very smooth, very easy to make, and tastes great. My new favorite chocolate buttercream frosting. Thanks Nancy for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANIENEE
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This was a perfect frosting for my cookie dough cupcakes. This blended very easily and came out the perfect piping consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I believe I did it wrong. :( Before adding all the ingredients together I melted the butter and it was too liquidy so I had to add an extra cup of powdered sugar. It's in the refrigerator now and I don't know how it will turn out... but so far the taste is good so I will give it five stars. Next time I will keep the butter at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acatcalledmoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This was AMAZING!!!!!! I will never eat canned frosting again. I did cheat a little and added a tablespoon more cocoa than needed, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
WoW! This is the best chocolate frosting EVER! I'm only giving it 4 stars because I had to mod it just a little. I made it "as is" the 1st time and it was sooooo incredibly chocolatey it kinda made me cringe, & I'm a chocolate lover! I needed more than what this made so I doubled the recipe but did not add more cocoa or extract. It was almost perfect! I think next time I will try it with 2T of cocoa and add more if needed. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
It was good. Just way too rich. Tasted like fudge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
made on cupcakes, didnt like the taste very much not what i was looking for, tasted like chocolate milk ontop a cupcake..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States