Chocolate Cookie Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
It was ok, but not a buttercream. Very sweet, ok on the chocolate flavor. Noticed that it was very similar to the recipe on the back of the cocoa box. Made enough to frost a 2 layer 9 inch round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I was disappointed with this frosting. There was too much powdered sugar taste and not enough chocolate taste. I did appreciate that it didn't make a ton because I was frosting a small pan of brownies, but that's not reason enough for me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This isn't the best chocolate frosting I've ever had, but it's really close. I made a chocolate cake that was really rich, so I wanted a lighter chocolate frosting that's not too sweet or rich. This definitely fit the bill. It's light and fluffy, not dense like 'fudge' frosting. It's almost as good as chocolate ice cream. The only thing I didn't like was the small quantity. I doubled the recipe and it still makes less that the Wilton Buttercream frosting recipe. So if you're going to use this to frost, say, a layer cake, don't expect much frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniLynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I really liked this one! I frosted cupcakes with it - they got a slighty "crunchy" shell after sitting uncovered, it was very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This frosting was so good, im not sure why other people would want to change or add other stuff to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I love this frosting! It was so delicious and it actually saved some horrible cookies that I'd made. The perfect frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I wanted to use this frosting for cupcakes so i took advise from another reviewer and used just under 1/4 cup milk for a creamier frosting. Quick, easy and delicious. Makes just enough for 24 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bakingaddict
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Instead of cocoa, I melted some unsweetened chocolate and put it in, and I also had to use a couple more tablespoons of milk to get the consistency I wanted. Tasted amazing, this will definitely be my go-to chocolate frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingaddict

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This is really tasty chocolate frosting that is super easy to make. It wasn't too rich, which was nice, since I used it on an already-sweet birthday cake. I would recommend using a little more milk, as recommended in the recipe. Also, if you need to go back and touch up the recipe, make sure to use a wet spatula. It dries pretty quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi Spencer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Fantastic recipe! I used this frosting to ice simple white cake cupcakes for a birthday party. The cupcakes were light and fluffy, with a wonderful flavor. I wanted the frosting a little more "chocolatey," so I melted some milk chocolate chips and added to the mix. The consistency was still perfect. Wonderful frosting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States