Chocolate Coffee Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could! This was my first time ever homemaking frosting so I was very happy with the results. I followed the recipe with the exception of the 1 1/2 16oz bags of powdered sugar. I couldn't find 16oz bags at my grocery store so I had to get a 32oz bag. I didn't have a way of measuring the powdered sugar exactly so I just used my judgment. I used this frosting to go on the Black Magic Cake from allrecipes. I had more than enough frosting for a 9x13 sheet cake. This recipe would probably make the perfect amount for a 2 layer 9 in round cake. I will definitely be making this again. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abower1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Who out there is a coffee lover?! If you are like me and you love the flavor of coffee in your icing or cake you should try this recipe. You should also consider up-ing the tbs of brewed coffee if you like a more defined taste of coffee in your baked goods. I used about 6 tbs instead of the 3-4 that it recommended. Also I was a little confused about the cream cheese packaging. It specifies 1 package (4oz) but cream cheese packages are normally 8 oz. Am I right?!?! LOL. WELL...I did not know if this was an error on their part or if there was actual cream cheese packages that came in 4 oz. So I decided to use 6 oz's of cream cheese. Between the 2 modifications it turned out just divine. I would definitely use this recipe again. And mostly definitely would recommend it to others for their cakes or treats in the future. Happy Baking & Blessed Be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Walton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Great frosting, but almost too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Super easy, super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by christina
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Yum! Spread very nicely. Yummy. Pretty sweet but also tang from cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Delicious! A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Used Hershey's Dark Chocolate powder and a bit less sugar and it is perfect. Used on Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes and it was a perfect compliment. Rich, smooth and very chocolatey tasting. Big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Way too sweet. I will try less sugar next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Added 1 t cinnamon and substituted milk for coffee. Reduced margarine to 1/2 c and increased cream cheese to 8 os pkg. Used l pkg (l lb) of conf sugar. Everyone LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Delicious! I didn't use all the powdered sugar, I just added in more cocoa powder to thicken it. I used a combination of Hershey's and Hershey's special dark powder. Everyone loved this frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States