Chocolate Coconut Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I've gone over & over this recipe, trying to figure out what went wrong. It just wouldn't set up, kept adding powdered sugar, tried putting in the fridge. Frosting pooled around the bottom, none stayed put in the middle - just an ugly mess. Nice flavor but won't try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
This was super good, light, creamy and fluffy. Try it without the coconut really good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Great frosting for chocolate and coconut lovers! I used it in place of the traditional German Chocolate Cake frosting and it was delicious. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I had no problems with it setting up like a few other reviewers reported, though I was a little worried it might not until I added the coco powder. It had a nice creamy texture, spread beautifully, and was more than I needed to ice my 9x13 sheet cake. As for the flavor, it was just "ok" for me. It is a nice quick frosting in a pinch, but just held no WOW factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cutie in the Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Had similar issue with frosting not setting. Made the recipe exactly the way it was posted, minus the cocoa (wanted a white frosting) and it wouldn't set. I put it on cupcakes for a party and they were very hard to transport. The frosting went everywhere, and 'melted' by the time I reached my destination. I tried fixing it, even threw them in the freezer. Also, the taste of cream cheese was very strong. Not sure if it was because there was no cocoa, but it was as though I put melted cream cheese on cupcakes. Not my proudest culinary moment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Beacon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I thought the cream cheese and coconut were a good balance to my dark chocolate cake turned out great. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I used this frosting on my husband's chocolate birthday cake last night. He loved it (and he's usually hard to please)! I followed a suggestion by the author of the recipe and spread it on the cake before I baked it. The frosting came out warm and gooey on the hot cake. I am very happy with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MessyMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kodak, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This recipe was perfect - let me tell you why. First, if following the recipe exactly, it sets perfectly. Make sure your cream cheese, butter and milk are blended well together. You may have to scrape the bowl a few times in order to get every morsel of each the butter and cream cheese blended. After you mix the coco and coconut together (once again scraping the bowl so everything is well mixed), it will seem like it's too thick. This is NORMAL. Do NOT add any more liquid ingredients to thin it out. When you add the sugar, the mix actually thins a bit. You'd think it was the opposite way around, but I assure you it is not. Not only does it thin to perfect spreading consistency, the added sugar gives it a beautiful glossy satin look. This recipe is amazing not only because it sets to well, but because of its flavor. Think of it - 1.5 cups of powdered sugar is unheard of in most quick frosting recipes. This frosting is creamy and sweet, but only lightly and not overpoweringly cloying like many other sugary frostings. Make it - you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Plains, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This is a great recipe. I had no problems with it setting up. I added vanilla and it is still light and fluffy. Next time I will use dark cocoa powder though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Roaring Spring, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Used this on a birthday cake was a nice change, very light and not too sweet! Everyone loved it! Don't know why some had trouble? I would have just added a little more cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States