Chocolate Coconut Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I used this with the two ingredient pumpkin cake. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
For those who had problems with the frosting not setting up properly, this often happens with light or spreadable cream cheese. The best stuff is the kind that comes in a brick. Also, omitting the cocoa powder without substituting it with something else, like rice flour or cornstarch, will make a much thinner frosting. Cocoa powder is a deceptively strong binder; altering the amount of it in brownies, for instance, can take them from gooey to super dry with just a couple of tablespoons. Otherwise, I'm not sure what went wrong, and I'm so sorry it made a mess of your cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoamonkey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This recipe was perfect - let me tell you why. First, if following the recipe exactly, it sets perfectly. Make sure your cream cheese, butter and milk are blended well together. You may have to scrape the bowl a few times in order to get every morsel of each the butter and cream cheese blended. After you mix the coco and coconut together (once again scraping the bowl so everything is well mixed), it will seem like it's too thick. This is NORMAL. Do NOT add any more liquid ingredients to thin it out. When you add the sugar, the mix actually thins a bit. You'd think it was the opposite way around, but I assure you it is not. Not only does it thin to perfect spreading consistency, the added sugar gives it a beautiful glossy satin look. This recipe is amazing not only because it sets to well, but because of its flavor. Think of it - 1.5 cups of powdered sugar is unheard of in most quick frosting recipes. This frosting is creamy and sweet, but only lightly and not overpoweringly cloying like many other sugary frostings. Make it - you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Plains, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
So Good and easy. Used sweetened coconut-that's what I had on hand. Only used 2 TEASPOONS of milk. Plenty thick, and even a bit glossy! I keep performing QA tests, just to make sure... ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I used sweetened cocoa powder and sweetened coconut because that is what I had. Just used less powdered sugar. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Absolutely delicious!!! It came out fluffy, and was very smooth. I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This is a great recipe. I had no problems with it setting up. I added vanilla and it is still light and fluffy. Next time I will use dark cocoa powder though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Roaring Spring, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Used this on a birthday cake was a nice change, very light and not too sweet! Everyone loved it! Don't know why some had trouble? I would have just added a little more cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Very rich in chocolate flavor, but without overwhelming sweetness if you follow the recipe exactly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I had no problems with it setting up like a few other reviewers reported, though I was a little worried it might not until I added the coco powder. It had a nice creamy texture, spread beautifully, and was more than I needed to ice my 9x13 sheet cake. As for the flavor, it was just "ok" for me. It is a nice quick frosting in a pinch, but just held no WOW factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cutie in the Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States