Chocolate Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
What a wonderful treat! Not for lightweights it's packed full of yummy chocolatey calories. Next time I would either cut the filling/topping amount in half or bake two cakes as it was too much for one 13x9x2 pan. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
Wonderful cake! Wouldn't change a thing as far as the cake and filling. I didn't have evaporated milk for the frosting, so I used the Satiny Chocolate Glaze from this site. Excellent frosting for this cake. 13 x 9 was too much cake for a family of 5, so I cut it in half and froze the rest. A week later, pulled out the frozen half. I think it was even better! Defrosts quickly and tastes great. I can't give this cake enough compliments! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA
Living In: North Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I made this in one cake pan. I baked the cake for the time given for a 9X13 pan on the cake mix box. Then put the coconut filling on top of the baked cake. I put walnuts on top of that (I did not have almonds) then finished by pouring the glaze over the top. Next time, I will put about 1 cup of evaporated milk in the coconut filling instead of regular milk then decrease the evaporated milk and sugar in the chocolate glaze to make it thicker and less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
The recipe is too much for a 9X13 pan.. I had the final topping running all down the outside of the pan. I recommend cutting down the middle and bottom layer ingredients by about 1/4th each. I followed the directions exactly and found this cake good, but way too sweet. The bottom layer was mushy. I won't be using this recipe again. Maybe someone can tweak it enough to make it work better?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
We loved the taste of this cake and the three different textures that the layers provide. It makes a VERY large cake, so be sure you have 9x13 pans (most are only 8 wide) . I found working with the large top piece problematic, so the second time I made it I used two 8x8 pans and cut each one in half, side to side, resulting in two cakes. I recommend making it more than one day in advance--it improves with age! Be sure to refrigerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This cake was delicious. I did do a few things differently, but they were for convenience. I used two round pans instead of two 9x13 and hollowed out spots for the coconut mixture. I used almost all the coconut mixture and ended up only needing half the glaze. I was afraid the marshmallows would make the coconut too sweet, but not all all, it was delicious and got rave reviews. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This recipe is wonderful, but it's much too much for the listed pan size. I had to throw half of the glaze away and even as it was, it was seeping down the sides. Maybe I should have used a "taller" pan? It's delicious, though, even though I don't like coconut and almonds (hubby likes them and I made it for him). Be sure to let the layers cool completely before starting on the filling/flipping process, though, and make it the day before so the whole cake has time to sit in the fridge overnight and cool down. Much better cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
If You like coconut, You will Love this Cake. I make it for b-days. It is now our new tradition. I would cut the recipe for the glaze in half. Makes way to much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krockney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alta Loma, California, USA
Living In: Fontana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This cake looks super yummy and I LOVE chocolate and coconut together ;) But is it the SWEETENED or UNSWEETENED coconut that you use? With the amount of sugar used for the filling, I'm assuming it's the UNSWEETENED variety...Will try this soon :) Rated 5 purely on the fact that it looks easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I was so hopeful for this recipe but won't be using it again. The filling was soup and I followed the recipe exactly. It never was thick and would have turned the bottom cake into soup. Any ideas what I did wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States