Chocolate Cluster-Peanut Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by halifaxcook
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This is such an amazing recipe. I made it for my mom's birthday and the entire cake was gone! The peanut clusters on the top were a huge hit and so easy to do. I'm making it again for my anniversary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
So yummy! Have you tried other PB filling recipes and find that they really don't have that peanut buttery flavor you were looking for? The idea here, to mix the peanutbutter with a pudding mix (and milk of course) is genius. The PB gives the pudding a stiffer texture that holds it's place between the layers better than pudding alone. NOW I used all of my PB/pudding mix in my layers and made my own "Fluffy Frosting" using PB as part of my shortening. But the frosting concept here looks great in theory as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Homemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Great recipe! I added about a 1/4 cup melted peanut butter to the cake mix which gave it a hint of peanut butter and made it taste more homeade. I didn't have peanuts so I decorating it with chocolate frosting. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This cake was a big hit and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Very good, but also tastes like it doesn't require a lot of work =) Maybe adding something to the cake mix part so it isn't so obvious that it came from a box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
YUMMMM! This cake was amazing. I LOVE PB period, so what I did to pump up the peanut butter flavor was: ~added Peanut Butter morsels into the cake batter long w/ 1/2 cup of slightly melted PB. Note: The review before me said the frosting came out runny??? Once the pudding sets up w/ the cool whip it's pretty firm (so not sure what happened there)?? It worked out fabulous for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
The frosting was way too soft and runny. I should have trusted my instincts when I saw the ingredients, but decided to give it a try. Won't make that mistake again. The flavor was amazing, but it ran down the sides of the cake into a blob on the tray. Might be okay if you use a 9x13 pan and only frost the top, but not for a layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I loved this cake!!!! At first I didn't think that there would be enough peanut butter mix left after filling the center of the cake, but there was plenty left to mix with the cool whip. A few of the people that I served this to did not care for it- but most did. What's not to like? I used peanuts that were already covered in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Made this for a friend's birthday and it was gone in 20 minutes! Unbelievably good. Didn't have Cool-whip, do I just whipped up some heavy whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States