Chocolate Chocolate Chip Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This cake is so good! It is moist and light. I made it in a Bundt pan. Short on time, I baked it for 1 hour on 350. I doubled the salt based on another review and didn't include cream of tarter (didn't have any), and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Mmm, yum yum! I agree that the recipe directions were clear and easy to follow. I had been looking for a yummy chocolate chip cake to satisfy my craving for choco chips without resorting to cookies. Most cakes I found used ingredients like packaged jell-o pudding. I always prefer to take things from more basic ingredients- so I know exactly what is going in my food, and so I feel like I am actually baking! So this recipe was great! We have a large oven, and a smaller oven for side dishes and rolls and such. I used my smaller oven, so the result was shorter cooking time and a crust that was not too hard, but a little crispy. The inside is still moist and creamy, melt-in-your-mouth good. It is just great! Thanks for this recipe, I will be using it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This is an excellent recipe the instruction are easy to understand.The ingredients are things that you would have on hand and the cake has the perfect texture for a pound cake. I would give it more stars if I could. The taste is right on.I baked it in my convection oven and baked it about 10 minutes longer. I tested it before taking it out of oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Very nice cake. I doubled the salt, and cocoa and my family all agreed that it was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I decided to do a test run of this cake tonight before I serve it at Thanksgiving dinner. It is absolutely FANTASTIC! Altho time consuming, it for sure beats out any pound cake I've ever had...and that makes up for it! I will be making another one tomorrow night because I cut into the one i made tonight. I did however double the cocoa. Immediately it has a very light cocoa flavor, at the end, a buttery flavor. AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Five stars for the recipe instructions! Amanda, you are a great instructor. You've put all the best tips here. Everyone could benefit from bookmarking this recipe and using its techniques for tender cakes. The texture of this cake was phenomenal, not as dense as typical pound cake. I would call this a "cocoa cake", though, because the ONLY change I made was to add twice the amount of cocoa, and it still wasn't very chocolatey. Chocolate ganache from this site topped it well. I wonder what substituting melted bittersweet chocolate for cocoa (2-4 squares) and cream cheese for sour cream would do. At least, DO add more chocolate chips!- 2 cups if you really like chocolate; just don't refrigerate it, or the chips will be hard. I'm savin' this recipe =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
LOVED IT !!!! This is the second time i made this cake. I would recomend reading and understanding the drections in advance. Take your time, and follow step-by-step. I did add more chocolate chips, 1 cup of chopped wallnuts. I mixed 1 of a cup powdered sugar, 1 Tbsp. milk, and 1 tsp. vanilla, and poured it in a design over the cake after the cake was at room tempature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melinda111

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This cake is awesome! I do quite a lot of baking and this is one of my favorite cakes ever. The texture is velvety smooth. Really perfect with a cup of tea or coffee. It has a really nice subtle chocolate flavor that was just right for me. I didn't make any changes to the recipe and I have made it twice. I'm normally one to take shortcuts and rush through a recipe (as I have two young children) but I really took my time both times I made this cake...following every step. I will definitely keep this one on file and make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I made this for my son's birthday, he wanted a train cake so I needed to cut loaves up to make the engine, stack, and cars. It cut up so nicely and held together so I could shape the cake perfectly! There wasn't so much as a crumb left, it was delicious. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Super good! Since we don't like too much sweetness, I cut down (a little less than 1/4 cup) on the sugar. The cake is very pretty with a sprinkling of confectioner's sugar over the top. Serve with lightly sweetened whipped cream and you've got a marvelous dessert for family or dinner parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States