Chocolate Chocolate Chip Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I 'm a novice it took me longer for prep than 45mim but it turned out great GREAT RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Overall, a very good cake and recipe. I missed that it was chocolate chocolate. In my opinion, 2T Cocoa was not nearly enough. If you want chocolate batter, double that. Also, add 1-1.5 c chips. I used about 3/4 c and it could have used some more. I would make this again w that add, but no cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This cake was delicious. I would definitely recommend trying it, being sure to follow the excellent instructions. I was looking for a cake recipe to bake in my Wilton Wonder Mold (you know, the one you use to create a ballgown shape, to make a princess cake). This recipe was the perfect choice - it came out of the pan easily, held its shape well, and didn't fall apart when sliced. I had to bake it for an extra 5 minutes, and then I turned the oven off and left it in there for another 10 before my tester came out clean, but I suspect that may have been necessary only due to the deep bowl shape of the mold. Other than that, I made only minor changes (doubled the cocoa powder, and used milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet), so I feel confident giving this recipe 5 stars, as written. Just a note - this is quite a heavy cake, moist & dense. If you're looking for a light, airy cake - this is not it. But for a molded cake, like a bundt, or a loaf, or the Wonder Mold, it's a great choice. One more thing - full disclosure - I am NOT a chocoholic - this cake was chocolaty enough for me (like chocolate milk). It does not have a "dark" bittersweet chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbsoccermom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Really good, very moist. I subbed plain yogurt for sour cream and used a Bundt pan at the same temp for 85m.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by icecreammama
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This cake turned out fantastic. The moistness was about level 4 on a 5 level mark. I used a cup of my wheat/barley whole wheat flour that I grind and 1 3/4c. all purpose. Everything else was the same. It had the most beautiful texture of any cake I have ever made!! This one I will make again for sure. I served it plain but it would have been even better with a chocolate glaze or whipped cream/ice cream. Make sure to follow measurements close and DON'T open the oven for at least the first 60min or until you are sure it is very near done otherwise it will sink. I baked it about 7 min over an hour. LOVELY cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
5 stars for instructions and 5 for the cake - congratulations. If you plan on making a cake like this, be prepared to spend the time and also no substitutes when it comes to ingredients. Having everything at room temperature is imperative. Pound type cakes requires a lot of beating and the results are wonderful - moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
for me this was a complete waste of ingredients. thick, dense ( not in a good pound cake way ) and tasteless. Needs way more cocoa powder and I think too much butter per egg ratio?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
LOVED IT !!!! This is the second time i made this cake. I would recomend reading and understanding the drections in advance. Take your time, and follow step-by-step. I did add more chocolate chips, 1 cup of chopped wallnuts. I mixed 1 of a cup powdered sugar, 1 Tbsp. milk, and 1 tsp. vanilla, and poured it in a design over the cake after the cake was at room tempature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melinda111

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This cake is so good! It is moist and light. I made it in a Bundt pan. Short on time, I baked it for 1 hour on 350. I doubled the salt based on another review and didn't include cream of tarter (didn't have any), and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This is an excellent recipe the instruction are easy to understand.The ingredients are things that you would have on hand and the cake has the perfect texture for a pound cake. I would give it more stars if I could. The taste is right on.I baked it in my convection oven and baked it about 10 minutes longer. I tested it before taking it out of oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States