Chocolate Chocolate Chip Nut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I followed another reviewer's advice and add 1/4 cup milk and one tablespoon more of oil and 1/4 cup more of cocoa but the chips sank to the bottom...=( Next time I am omitting the chips because this was chocolaty enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Azorean Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This recipe sounded so yummy, I decided to try to make a healthier version and hope for the best. I used 1 cup of all purpose flour, 1/2 cup whole wheat, and 1/2 cup wheat germ. I also cut the sugar down to just over 1 cup, and used a single serving cup of unsweetened apple sauce instead of the oil. I followed another reviewers suggestion and used 1 1/2 cups of milk and 1/2 tsp salt, and added more walnuts and only 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. I didn't think they needed the sugar on top. Honestly, for all the changes, these muffins are awesome! I filled the cups right to the top and got nice big rounded tops, the recipe made 15 good sized muffins. So yummy and chocolatey, and still not TOO guilty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Changes: 2 eggs, 3/4 cup cacao, 3/8 cup oil, milk chocolate chips, 1/2 cup slivered almonds (no walnuts). One hour at 170 degrees Celsius for one bakingpan (instead of muffins)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and the flavor of these muffins was very poor ~ bland and unpleasant at the same time! I am not sure if it was something I did inadvertently or if this muffin just wasn't my cup of tea... my kids didn't like them either. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjbm3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grandville, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Delicious, but not as chocolatey as I expected. I baked them for 20 minutes (without nuts) and used milk chocolate morsels instead of semi-sweet. Very good and so very quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
These were awesome! I used half whole wheat flour, only 1 cup of sugar and Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa. My 3 year old is on his third one now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Good overall flavor. First, this made 20 regular sized muffins. Also, many reviewers stated that their chocolate chips sank to bottom of muffin; to resolve this issue dust chocolat chips with 1T flour. For those who think this is a dry muffin, check your cocoa. If it's dark or dutch cocoa you should add extra dairy fat (think sour cream) since chocolate, especially dark and dutch, will absorb the fat content in a recipe and dry it out (also the milk should not be skim or low fat). Also, if you omit the nuts this too will dry out the recipe as nuts add / help maintain moisture. That being said, I used 1 1/2 cup AP flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat, and 1 T oil plus 1T applesauce. Since I use a cocoa which is half semi-sweet / half dutch I added 2 t sour cream (double that if your cocoa is not a combo). My milk was 2%, but whole milk would've been a better option. Also, do not overcook. I baked 20 minutes and removed IMMEDIATELY from pan to help end residual baking. My muffins were chocolately and moist. The family really enjoyed. Better than store bought. P.S. For high altitude I reduced the baking powder by 1/2 t; this helps with over rising which leads to a deflated end product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Diamond Bar, California, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Very good! Almost like chocolate heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Bricker Schoor

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Moist. Made them into 6 jumbo muffins and baked longer. Husband loved them. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foxy Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eleva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Really good chocolate muffins but I find they cook way better if you don't sprinkle any sugar on the tops and I cooked them from 25 minutes to 30. Other than that, great chocolate muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey17x

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Zucchini-Chocolate Chip Muffins

Try these delicious zucchini muffins studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States