Chocolate Chocolate Chip Nut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I think this is more a cupcake than a muffin, based on the texture. I only used 1 cup of brown sugar and they were sweet enough. I also added a heaping tbs of instant coffee granules to enhance the chocolate flavor. I made 10 slightly larger than normal muffins and they were nice and moist. I omitted the nuts and sugar topping and neither were missed. Warm they stuck to the paper lines but that wasn't an issue once they cooled. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This recipe is FAR from a par. The outside rim of the muffin is crunchy. I had no problem with them being moist on the inside but the overall flavor is substandard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I make these as the recipe is written, except I didn't add the almonds. They are tasty but I thought they weren't as moist as I would like. I will try them again but add a little more fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Anselmo, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
These were really cupcakes, not muffins, judging from the batter consistency and smooth domed tops! Changes I made: reduced sugar to 1&1/4 cups, added 1/2 tsp salt, used 1&1/2 cups of milk, 3 tbsp of oil, and used my own combo of pine nuts, chocolate chips, and dried cranberries. Also didn't sprinkle sugar on top. These were quite moist and a little dense. Again, a cupcake, not a muffin, even with reduced sugar amounts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I just made these and they are perfect!! Still sitting in the muffin tray, they are warm and moist! Supersoft and delicious. I followed everything on the recipe except i ran out of milk, but had some whipping cream, so used that instead. I know that must really add to the fat, but it makes a wonderful muffin!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
These were OK. Not fantastic. I was thinking they would be a little more dense. They were moist, but a little too "spongy." The only adjustment I made was melted butter instead of oil, which shouldn't have made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
these are really yummy! the only issue i had was that the batter was really runny, so it was harder to fill the cups. they look like cupcakes and baked like cupcakes and filled like cupcakes, but they came out muffin-y - not too sweet, and not super moist, but just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Whit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
These were okay...not great. I didn't think these were chocolatey enough and they were more like cupcakes vs. muffins. I followed the recipe per the directions except I didn't add nuts. I was a bit disappointed due to the rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I omitted the nuts because my husband can't eat them, but these were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This recipe needed a bit more salt than the 1/4 tsp. Overall, good recipe. I discovered I was out of cupcake liners, so I poured the batter into loaf pans instead. I baked it a little longer, and they came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Nielsen Yeagley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Zucchini-Chocolate Chip Muffins

Try these delicious zucchini muffins studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States