Chocolate Chocolate Chip Nut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Tasted good, but really crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Amazing muffins! I omitted the nuts and added a splash more of the milk to thin out the batter a bit. I think these are best eaten the day they are baked, as the small amount of oil means that they don't stay moist for long. Fortunately everyone loved these, so there were hardly any leftovers the next day. I imagine it would also be great cooked in a loaf pan like banana bread. Thank you for an easy and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Delicious! I increased the milk by a 1/4 cup as others suggested, doubled the salt and added a very generous 1/2 cup of cocoa powder. I didn't add any nuts only because I didn't have any on hand. I'm normally the type to substitute applesauce for oil however 2 tablespoons isn't a lot of extra fat/calories for the amount of muffins you make (I got 24) so I just used the oil, I will try the applesauce in the future though just to see if I like it. But these came out w/ the perfect consistancy, not too light and not too dense and they puffed up perfectly in the oven, they all had nice round tops. I sprinkled the tops w/ some leftover cinnamon/sugar mixture rather than just sugar and I really liked that. With the last 12 muffins I made I added a peanut butter swirl to the batter (I used maybe 1/4 cup).. if you like peanut butter and chocolate try doing that sometime, they were really good that way. Thanks for this recipe, its a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I made these as written except left out all nuts and didn't put sugar on top. Fresh out of the oven I feel it needs more salt (maybe 1/2 teaspoon) and fewer chocolate chips (maybe 1/2 cup) and pinch of cinnamon. Now it is the next day and I would reduce the score to a 2 star. Might try again with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kle_sam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willowdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I willl never buy chocolate chip muffins again from the store! This recipe is too awesome! I made this for my family of five (three kids) which one of them are not crazy about chocolate. HE loved it! My husband asked me after the mufffins were gone, when I will make them again! ;-) Thanks for submitting a wonderful recipe. Also, I omitted the recipe and used mini chocolate chips. For some reason mines kept sinking to the bottom when using regular sized ones. But perhaps I am adding it at the wrong time. Either way, these muffins still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I made them basically as written, just without the nuts (I'm not generally a fan). Very yummy! The only downside is that they're very sticky, so even with paper liners they were hard to get out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I can't believe how many people have rated this and then pointed out that they haven't even used the bleedin' recipe! I've followed this recipe to the letter twice now and absolutely LOVE it! I've also done it loads without the nuts and have used chocolate chunks instead of chips a few times. It's very versatile and so long as you don't over cook (did this once and the muffins didn't burn but they were rather dry), they are beautifully moist. Thanks so much for this recipe! This is the first time I've succeeded in making chocolate muffins as other recipes have resulted in chocolate scented bricks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I followed the recipe to a T except for adding a tsp of cinnamon (love chocolate and cinnamon together). I made 12 muffins and almost a whole pan of mini muffins. The mini muffins were done in 10 minutes. I cooked the big muffins for 19. They weren't very chocolatey and turned out a bit dry. I was careful not to overmix or overbake. Won't be making these again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I liked these. They were nice and moist. I did change a bit. Instead of oil I used unsweetened applesauce and I put in 3/4 cup of quick oats in the batter. Made them a bit more healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
My husband loovedd these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSCHALK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States