Chocolate Chocolate Chip Nut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Delicious recipe. I made bread instead of muffins. Decreased sugar to one cup and increased oil to 1/4 cup. Very moist. Will definitely make again So good with my morning coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
After reading the reviews about the chips sinking to the bottom, I added them to the flour mixture before adding the wet. That is supposed to stop the sinkage. But it didn't. The bottoms are basically pure chocolate chips. The tops did not rise but mushed out around the edges of the cake papers. I think the taste was good but something needs to be tweaked. I'm just not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Photo by shakiraism
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
these came out perfect! the chocolate explosion you get in your mouth from these is like no other! very very rich & the only think i changed was that i used dutch cocoa powder (because i had no unsweetened one available) & i didn't sprinkle sugar on top. i would recommend chopping the almonds & toasting them (as i did) & placing some walnuts on top before baking. delicious recipe thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shakiraism

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I made these exactly as written. Firstly, the taste was wonderful. Moist and chocolately. Cons: they domed and then collasped leaving a nasty top crust and chips did sink to bottom. I used regular muffin tins and came out with 18, so either a) they were meant to be baked in larger muffin sized tins or b) there's too much baking powder in batter. They simply couldn't hold the weight of the batter. I'll definately try again - first using the larger muffin tins and if that doesn't work, will try reducing the bp or increasing the fat content as others have done. UPDATE: So so sorry - just too hard to try to adapt recipe to prevent the top from caving in...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Scaled for 18; made as directed, except omitted nuts due to preference. Love them!!! Made 26 regular-sized muffins, some slightly bigger, some smaller. Just wish they weren't so calorific! :) Might try subbing stuff out next time. Thanks bunches for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Oh my goodness! So good! I get requests for these often. Only change I make is to omit the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Delicious, super-chocolatey muffins! I do recommend increasing the milk to 1 1/2 cups, this gave me muffins that were more moist. As always, don't mix that muffin batter too much! 20 minutes in my oven and they were perfectly done. My brother ate 3 in one sitting! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I liked this recipe. I used applesauce instead of the oil but I think this was a great recipe and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I will hesitate before using this recipe again. The muffins did not turn out as expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I made a few of the adjustments that other suggested. I'm not sure how to describe how these came out... Maybe tough? Chewy? The texture of them was odd, and I thought they were a little too sweet and a little too chocolatey for a muffin. Next time I make them, I will not do the adjustments and see how they turn out. My muffins also collapsed in the middle, I'm thinking I may have overmixed them. To avoid that next time, I will mix the wet into the dry instead of the dry into the wet. I find it easier to do without overmixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Zucchini-Chocolate Chip Muffins

Try these delicious zucchini muffins studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States