Chocolate Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
From reading the reviews, it sounded like they were really dry. I fixed this by adding another egg, 1/2 cup of sour cream and normal milk instead of butter milk. They tasted great! I also noticed that it called for a lot of baking squares, so I used chocolate chips. This worked, but needed a lot of them. So, I fixed it by mixing 6 tablespoons cocoa powder, 1/4 cup butter, and 7 tablespoons sugar in replacement. They turned out exactly the same as before, success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
OMG, these muffins are AMAZING. I took everyone's advice and added 1 egg and 1/2c sour cream and used regular milk instead of butter milk. I was also short 2 squares of chocolate, so I substituted 3tbsp cocoa and 1tbsp butter for each square. Also, if you use larger chocolate chips, mix them in with the flour -- that way they'll stay even distributed instead of sinking to the bottom. AND! If you're worried about your muffins sticking to the paper cups, LIGHTLY spray them with cooking spray, and it'll be fine. Did I mention that these are amazing? Because they are. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Even though I made changes I still gave these muffins 5 stars because my children loved them. Add the 1/2 sour cream, 2 eggs (instead of 1) and 3/4 sugar (instead of 1/2 c) and they are perfect. Also, reduce the cooking time. I only cooked mine for 18 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
With the modifications (3/4 cup sugar, 1/2 cup sour cream and 2 eggs) these were absolutely PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENELLEBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
This recipe is a keeper!! I did take the comments about dryness to heart and added an extra egg to the recipe. It worked out great! They are nice and moist and still baked to perfection in just 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
I used the advice from some of the reviewers. I added an egg, 1/2 c sour cream and used regular milk instead of buttermilk. It was fabulous. I double the recipe for the first try and got 3 and 1/2 doz muffins. They were slightly over cooked at 20 min in the oven, next time I'll check it at 18 min. If I had a jumbo muffin pan these would be like the yummy bakery muffins, but they're a smaller version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I initally tried the recipe using the recommendations of adding the extra egg, 3/4 cup of white sugar, and 1/2 cup of sour cream and, while they were good, they weren't the "WOW!" I was looking for. I then made another batch making a few more adjustments/additions and achieved exactly what I was looking for in a double chocolate muffin; very rich and moist (similar to the ones I used to buy at Superstore). I increased the chocolate to 8 ounces as I found the first batch wasn't "chocolately" enough (yes, I am a chocoholic) by using 4 ounces of Baker's semi-sweet chocolate and 4 ounces of Baker's Premium dark chocolate, 1/2 cup of sour cream, 2 eggs, 1/3 cup of 3% milk, 1/2 cup of vanilla yogurt (not fat-free), 1/2 cup white sugar, and 1/4 cup packed golden brown sugar. It took 22 minutes at 400 degrees F for them to bake and I started checking at 18 minutes just to be sure I didn't over-cook them. I know this isn't the healthiest recipe but if you're going to eat a double chocolate muffin, I say throw caution to the wind and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
Finally - a choc chip muffin recipe that doesn't come out like a cup cake. I used the tips about egg, milk and sour cream. I've got many requests for the recipe. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I followed other reviewers advice and added an extra egg. When I went to get the buttermilk out of the fridge I realised that it was out of date so I used milk that I added a tsp of vinegar too. The 5 teenagers that were here for dinner demolished these in no time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
I did not have the semisweet squares so I used 6 oz of semisweet chips.They turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Zucchini-Chocolate Chip Muffins

Try these delicious zucchini muffins studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States