Chocolate Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
yum, these were good! I followed other reviewers' suggestions and added an extra egg, 1/2 cup sour cream and upped the sugar from 1/2 to 3/4 cup. I also added extra vanilla (2 tsp total) and omitted the chocolate chips. (I know, I know... WHAT was I thinking???) I was trying to make them a bit healthier by leaving the chips out. Actually, they were still really good, even without the mini-chips. I'll make this again! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessiGuest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
These were so yummy! Like the other reviewers, I made some changes. 1 extra egg, 3/4 cup sugar, cocoa and butter instead of bark. Instead of adding sour cream, I added 1/2 cup of BEET puree. Yep, BEET! Gives them a hint of earthyness, but if you dont tell anyone it is there, they will never know. They turned out chocolatey, moist, rich, and the beet makes them a little less guilty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
These were pretty good. I love chocolate muffins and wanted to make my own. First time I ever baked anything from scratch! The only problem that I had was that they were a little dry, and had too many chocolate chips in them (which all floated to the bottom of the muffin). Next time I'm going to add an exta egg like other people here ahave said for the dryness, and not use so many chips. Any suggestions on how to get the chips to spread thoughout the entire muffin (first time baker here)? Will for sure make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I gave this 3 starts because it was tasty but not WOW-delicious. Even with adding an extra egg and sour cream it was still dry. The chocolate flavour was perfect, but the texture is definitely too dry. I'll keep looking for the perfect chocolate muffin... sigh... if I must eat more chocolate :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prairie Epicurian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I made these muffins tonight. I added 1 more egg and vanilla yogurt in place of milk and vanilla. They turned out great!! very moist, I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
oh these are heavenly! i made 2 batches and donate one dozen to our local police and fire dept,they called me wanting more the next day! awesome awesome awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Osawatomie, Kansas, USA
Living In: Hartshorne, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Good. I added the extra's as recomended by others. I made mini muffins and it made a lot. They were tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kamas, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I found these to be delicious and think you ought to give these a try to.....very moist and yummy......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
They're very good. I didn't want to use muffin cups and so I found out they don't take 20-25 minutes to bake then; it only takes 10-15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Such a good recipe with the modifications of the regular milk and the sour cream. My family loved them soo much next time I know to make more than 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States