Chocolate Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I've followed what everyone said and made the changes by adding more sour cream, sugar and egg but it still turned out dry. When mixing the flour with the choc-butter mixture, the batter also becomes lumpy. I've tried it twice and both time, it's lumpy. Will not make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Just made these and they are awesome! I used cocoa with butter and sugar instead of the chocolate, as suggested by one reader, and they are absolutely wonderful. I used hersheys dark chocolate cocoa...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeport, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I wanted to make chocolate muffins like the ones from Costco, and this was spot-on. I took previous reviewers' suggestions and added sour cream, an extra egg, and extra sugar (but had to use brown instead of white since I didn't have the latter). It turned out moist and yummy, just like the Costco version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I made this muffins as a morning Valentine's Day treat. I am a relatively experienced cookie baker but this was actually my first attempt at muffins. I was definitely pleased with these muffins. I added the 1/2 cup sour cream, increased the sugar to 3/4 cup and used milk instead of butter milk. I am in the UK so for baking chocolate I used Dark Waitrose bars and for the chips I cut up Swiss milk chocolate bars. I always find the later is the best way to get really fresh, flavorful chocolate chips. My husband loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
These were horribly dry and rock hard on the top. I really should have read the reviews, since everyone had to add several ingredients to make them edible. I even reduced the cooking time, with poor results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This recipe is so great!!!! It's so delicious. I made it twice this week. Everyone in my family loves it. Now it's school break so I have time to bake bakery. IT'S SO DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
These were just OK. The Fudgy Chocolate Chip Muffins recipe is much more intense in flavor and not as dry as these. I added an extra egg, 1/2 cup of white yogurt, 3/4 c. milk, and 3/4 c. sugar as suggested but they were still a little dry and not as chocolatey as the Fudgy muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I too made some alterations in an attempt to leave out the butter and buttermilk (lowering some of the fat). I used 6oz of yogurt (I used boston cream pie, but vanilla or plain would also work). I also used 1/2 c of fat free sour cream. I did the 3/4 c of sugar, but only used one egg (to keep the cholesterol lower). I eliminated the buttermild completely. I also eliminated the butter and instead used skim milk when melting the chocolate. I used 2 oz of a ghiridelli choc. bar and the rest choc chips (they don't have as much fat). They cooked about 18 min and were very moist. Next time I might use all yogurt instead of the sour cream just to give the batter a little more flavor (I love sweet). I also sprinkiled a little white sugar on top before baking which made them look much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
With the modifications (3/4 cup sugar, 1/2 cup sour cream and 2 eggs) these were absolutely PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENELLEBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
My 10 year old son made these for his local 4-H fair. He made the suggested changes of 2 eggs and 1/2 cup sour cream. He also changed the buttermilk to goat milk and then added 1 cup peanut butter chips. When they were done baking he drizzled them with Reeses peanut butter/chocolate syrup. He won class champion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States