Chocolate Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
These were just ok, nothing special and the recipe did not yield a full dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I initally tried the recipe using the recommendations of adding the extra egg, 3/4 cup of white sugar, and 1/2 cup of sour cream and, while they were good, they weren't the "WOW!" I was looking for. I then made another batch making a few more adjustments/additions and achieved exactly what I was looking for in a double chocolate muffin; very rich and moist (similar to the ones I used to buy at Superstore). I increased the chocolate to 8 ounces as I found the first batch wasn't "chocolately" enough (yes, I am a chocoholic) by using 4 ounces of Baker's semi-sweet chocolate and 4 ounces of Baker's Premium dark chocolate, 1/2 cup of sour cream, 2 eggs, 1/3 cup of 3% milk, 1/2 cup of vanilla yogurt (not fat-free), 1/2 cup white sugar, and 1/4 cup packed golden brown sugar. It took 22 minutes at 400 degrees F for them to bake and I started checking at 18 minutes just to be sure I didn't over-cook them. I know this isn't the healthiest recipe but if you're going to eat a double chocolate muffin, I say throw caution to the wind and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I, too, took the advice of others and added the extra egg, regular milk, and I used 1/4 cup of sourcream. I also doubled the vanilla extract and added about 1/4 cup more of sugar. These are DELICIOUS. Melt in your mouth muffins that are not like cupcakes. I would give it 4.5 stars...but it wont let me :) Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I followed the suggestions of Elliesama and Jenellebelle in the reviews in 2006 by doing the following: I substitued milk for buttermilk, added a ½ cup of sourcream, added an extra egg, and added 3/4 cup sugar. At 205 celcius I only had to bake them for 20 min. They were super good! This recipe is going on my list of "keepers".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Delicious! Kids loved them! I saw reviews saying it was dry so I added an extra egg and 1/2 cup of light sour cream. I also used skim milk instead of buttermilk. Thanks for much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I'm going to throw my 2 cents in here as well! With minor modification, these were AMAZING! I didn't have sour cream, so instead of the buttermilk, I used heavy whipping cream. I didn't have sour cream, so I added more heavy whipping cream (come on! They are already not healthy for you! Caution to the wind and such). I did sub the 6 tbsp coco, 7 tbsp sugar, 1/4 cup butter for the semi-sweet baking squares and added an extra egg. Very moist and VERY chocolaty! I'm a chocaholic and one regular size muffin did me in! Thanks for posting! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
These are good with modifications. I took other reviewer's advice about adding an extra egg, increasing the sugar to 3/4c (instead of 1/2c) and adding 1/2c of sour cream. I didn't have sour cream, so I added 1/2c of extra liquid (orange juice and marsala wine). In retrospect, I think 1/2c of oil would've been a better add-in, since the only source of fat in this recipe is the butter used to melt the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laylah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I was lacking quite a few ingredients for this recipe, but these muffins still turned out great. For those of you who are kind of poor these days, the following things might work for you: I did not have any sour cream per previous reviews, so I added 1 egg and 1/4 c. oil to make them more moist. I did not have any baking chocolate or cocoa, so I melted 3/4 c. semisweet chocolate chips with the 1/3 c. butter. I used milk instead of buttermilk, as suggested by previous reviews. However, I only had powdered milk, so I used 3/4 c. water and 1/4 c. powdered milk. Since there was extra liquid in the batter from the extra egg and oil, I used 2 c. flour. I am a chocoholic, so I added 1/2c. extra semisweet chocolate chips. A 1/2 c. of pecans was a good addition, too. Hope this helps those who did not have all the ingredients :) Great recipe...thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naxxramas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Don't make this without the suggestions! I added Sour Cream and replaced the buttermilk and they turned out to be the most delicious thing I've baked so far!!! I only had 4 bars of chocolate instead of 6 though, but they still came out wonderfully. OMG delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by soccindy
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Did the changes due to the comments on the dryness, added sour cream milk instead of buttermilk, switched to chocolate powder and added sugar turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soccindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Zucchini-Chocolate Chip Muffins

Try these delicious zucchini muffins studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States