Chocolate Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I made these muffins for a friend of ours who's grandma died recently, but I took 1 of the muffins and ate it so I could review it here ;) First of all, they rose way more than the title image on this page (which is a good thing!). Also, the muffin was light & airy--almost like the texture of a red velvet cupcake. I added 1/4 cup more buttermilk, and 1 more egg like another user advised, so I have no idea how much of the rising the extra egg caused, and how much of the moisture the extra buttermilk and egg caused as well. Overall, with the added ingredients this recipe was close to perfect. Thanks for the recipe! ~Bae
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
To compensate for all the dryness i used: 2/3 cup butter instead of 1/3 cup. 1 1/4 cup buttermilk 1 additional egg yolk (NO EXTRA WHITE) Baked for 18-20 minutes and then I let it rest I have to say, they came out pretty darn moist but still not Costco Choc/Choc muffin moist. I will post pics later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tgc87
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
SUPER goood!!! Instead of buttermilk I used normal fresh milk, as adviced, and added 1 egg. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
When i baked them didn't look so juicy. But they are super tasty but very dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baku, Baku City, Azerbaijan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
These were great! I followed the suggestion of adding 3/4 c. sugar, 2 eggs and 1/2 c. sour cream. I wanted the chocolate & peanut butter flavor so I added 1 c. peanut butter chips instead of the choc. chips. The muffins were as good as the ones I've gotten at the bakery. I will definately be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROWNIE35

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norridgewock, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I gave this review 4 stars because they were amazing, but with the modifications. Like everyone else, I added the extra sugar, and sour cream. I only had one egg, but I will definitely use another egg next time. I would even go to add a bit more sugar (I like the Otis Spunkmeyer muffins, which are very sweet.) My only concern was when I was putting the batter into the cups, I thought the muffins would overflow because of how much batter there was. But they turned out beautifully! I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Very tasty muffins! I followed the recipe, except I baked them less because I made mini muffins! I brought these to work and everyone loved them. They have a nice chocolaty flavor and are very soft. These muffins would be out of this world if they had some kind of streusal topping to add a little crunch on top. I will be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amberger

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I made these vegan - I used vegan margarine instead of butter, 3/4 cup of soy milk w/ 1 1/2 tbs vinegar for the buttermilk, and EnerG egg replacer (follow instructions for 1 egg, plus add 1 tbs soy milk). Cooked them for 17 minutes - they came out perfect! Moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fewlforyhu
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Turned out great! I am only 13, but I have been cooking awhile and I can make lots of dishes. It wasn't difficult to make, but first I read almost all of the reviews. I was afraid they would be dry, so I added the sour cream and another egg. Really good! I would definitely reccomend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fewlforyhu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Zucchini-Chocolate Chip Muffins

Try these delicious zucchini muffins studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States