Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cake Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Really good. Great the next day and stay soft! I used regular salted butter (I cut out a little of the kosher salt) and omitted the nuts- still great. Don't let these over cook! 11 minutes is just enough, let them finish on the cookie sheet outside of the oven for about 2-3 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
I followed the recipe except for not adding in the nuts. Next time I will cut back on the chocolate chips. I used the hand roll method since there were so many chocolate chips it was impossible to do the spoon method with the chips falling off the dough. Definitely worth the effort because the cookies tasted fabulous. This recipe will be a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
These cookies were soft and chocolatey. The only thing I would change next time is to use regular salt instead of kosher. The salt taste was a bit too noticeable and I think it's because the kosher salt didn't blend as well as the other kind would've. Otherwise very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
These were the best cookies I think I have ever made....I made these over the Christmas holiday and they were a hit everywhere I took them. I even had to hide them from my husband. The only change I made was that I used chocolate chunks instead of chips. Didn't have the chips on hand. After I have tried these with the chunks I will only use chunks. With chunks you get more chocolate anyway. These cookies remind me of a brownie cookie more than a cake cookie though. I think you should give this a try. This has become a staple in my house!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chorn74

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Exactly as promised - chocolatey, cakey goodness. I was worried the dough would be too soft and spread (it's really sticky) but it didn't... I did substitute two teaspoons of mint flavouring for the vanilla and used mint chips instead of chocolate, and omitted the nuts 'cause I couldn't think which ones would taste good with mint and chocolate. Wonderful cookies - I made them large so I only got 2 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RussellC
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Oh baby!!! I have tinkered and experimented with other cookie recipes and this one really is the best. Mine didn't flatten as they baked so they came out really ugly...but who cares when they taste like this! My only change was to reduce the chocolate chips to 1 cup since I also crammed in a cup of walnuts. Enough talk...must get another cookie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Wow! These are way better than I thought they'd be. Im not a huge cookie fan, but I needed a way to use up some walnuts, (my mom has a very prolific walnut tree). I didnt think they were overly sweet or anything. They are better the next day, nice and chewy. Make sure you have milk though, these cookies beg for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Pretty yummy! I like my cookies really soft so only baked about 8-9 mins in my oven. The catch with these cookies as others have mentioned is they are MUCH better when completely cooled (like the next day), weird taste when warm and I was really disappointed, but the next day YUM-O!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIESMOMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Delicious! For a little more flavor, try adding extra vanilla, some cinnamon and a dash of chili powder to the dry ingredients. HINT: I blended in 1/2 C. sour cream with an extra tablespoon or so of flour and of cocoa. Drop by tablespoon onto parchment paper. The cookies weren't as brownie-like with the sour cream...tender, soft and tasty - right out of the oven! And yes, 11 minutes was perfect baking time. W.O.N.D.E.R.F.U.L.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
These were okay. I wasnt too pleased with the flavor. I cant quite pinpoint what it was though. My son liked them and we had fun making them together so I gave them a four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABESGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States