Chocolate-Chocolate Chip Bacon Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I halved the recipe in case we didn't care for them. I wish I would have gone ahead and made the whole batch. These are delicious. Addicting sweet/savory, perfect little cookies. My first batch spread a little more than I like so I just put the batter in the fridge for about and hour and used a small ice cream scoop and they turned out great. Used regular bacon (I don't care for maple flavor) and chopped the bacon so you could still see it and taste it. We will definately make these again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by bsblmom
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
WOW!!! Awesome cookie! I am always looking for something new and different and these fit the bill! I also used regular bacon... didn't want the extra sweetness of maple. The only change I made was that I used splenda instead of sugar. Will definately make these again. Bringing them to my Bible study tomorrow! Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsblmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Please pay attention to all of the 5-star reviews, particularly those who made no changes to the recipe, other than maybe using regular bacon rather than maple (I used regular bacon too) - because they are dead on accurate. I have to admit I made these today basically as an experiment out of curiosity. The chocolate-bacon combo has been a hot trend for awhile and I wanted to check it out for myself. Now I don't know if it's necessarily the bacon in these cookies that makes them so awesome good, but trust me and all the other 5-star reviewers, this is just a fantastic, perfect chocolate-chocolate chip cookie, one of the best I've ever tried as a matter of fact. I had Hubs try one without telling him the "mystery ingredient" and while he didn't notice the bacon, he quickly devoured it (eating the whole thing quickly is a VERY good sign of a VERY good cookie). I tried one myself and what struck me immediately was the lightness of this cookie - a completely different texture and density than others I've tried. I did notice the bacon, but perhaps only because I was looking for it -and the hint of it was nice, and just right. I wouldn't add any more. If the cookie is good already, what would be the point? And if I wanted a bacon cracker, or a bacon sandwich, I'd look for another recipe. These are delicious - moist, fudgey but light with just the slightest crispness on the surface. Trying this excellent chocolate-chocolate chip cookie today was sheer serendipity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
They were good, couldn't really taste the bacon. A little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by omahataxidriver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
When I saw bacon and chocolate chips together, I thought they would turn out nasty. Now, they're my new favorite. Combining the best of both worlds, meat and chocolate, This is simply delicious with a savory twist. The only thing I recommend is to not add 2 cups of chocolate chips- it can overpower the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
My two favorite foods-chocolate and meat!! Finally a recipe that incorporates the two into a warm, gooey and chewy sense-tingling cookie! Oh yeah, I also used regular bacon-no flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ Food!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by FamiliaJones
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
The chocolate flavor was great. I think I chopped my bacon too small and as a result, no one could really taste it. I would advise that you keep your bacon pieces on the bigger side and regular flavor. The maple is too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was delicious! One suggestion I would use is maybe use a little more bacon and when I made my batch the bacon was all clustered into one area of the batter so make sure the bacon is spread out evenly through out the batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
These are an excellent cookie! DON'T BE AFRAID OF THE BACON! Trust me. Chocolate & bacon make for a happy marriage...they're like (trying to think of a happy celebrity marriage to use for an example....still thinking.....) LTH & Mr LTH (I gave up). I followed the recipe, except I halved it because I didn't have enough bacon for the whole recipe. I also don't care for maple, so I used regular bacon. I made teaspoon sized balls (and I didn't flatten them) and they made perfect little bite sized cookies. Be sure to almost OVERcook your bacon so it falls apart when you touch it. Don't be afraid to give these a shot; they're worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Awesome! EVERYBODY loved these at Christmas time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States