Chocolate-Chocolate Chip Bacon Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
WOW! I'll be honest, the 1st time I saw this recipe I was pregnant & wanted everything! I didn't make them b/c everyone else thought I was nuts (esp my hubby) so I saved the recipe. Well, I am no longer pregnant & decided to make them today just to see what they'd be like - I am NOT disappointed! I followed the recipe exactly (but did not have the maple bacon - I buy turkey bacon so I used that) It was hard not to use brown sugar in a chocolate chip cookie recipe but I resisted since I wanted to make it the exact way the author did. Make these! Do not change things around & give this recipe a lower rating than it deserves!! It's fantastic & I know I'll be making it again!! My 5 year old son just said, "Mmm! I like bacon!" :o) Can't wait for the hubs to get home & try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSmithRN04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA
Photo by TheHotPinkLady
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Absolutely delicious. My mother said they were the best cookies she'd ever eaten. I recommend substituting brown sugar for white for a richer flavor. Make sure to blend the *room-temperature* butter and sugar FIRST before you add any other ingredients, and use a handmixer. Otherwise, the butter is nearly impossible to fluff and will just break up and make the batter lumpy. I'd also recommend putting the bacon into a food processor to crumble so that the pieces are a consistent size. There is *very* little liquid in this recipe (just the eggs and vanilla), so the batter, with all the ingredients, is going to be extremely thick. I actually destroyed my handmixer trying to mix it (it started smoking and just broke), so I'd recommend only mixing this by working it with your hands or in a sturdy standing mixer. You can make the balls of batter tablespoon-sized for a bigger, more moist cookie, and don't flatten them! Refrigerate for one hour before baking so the cookies will be thick. I baked for 14 minutes, and they were flawless, or, bake them until the very outer edges have hardened slightly and the rest of the cookie is still very soft. My new favorite cookie of all time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by preta75
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Great cookies! Soft on the inside just the way I like it. My fiance loved them and was surprised at the "secret" ingredient. It is not an overpowering bacon flavor, but the whole point is to compliment. You take a bite and wonder what is that?...they are yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by preta75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly, and although this was a great cookie, we couldnt really taste the bacon. Every few bites we got some bacon, and it was a neat texter, but no bacon flavor as all. Overall, this is a super cookie for big chocolate lovers. It went great with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I had just phenomenal reviews when I made these cookies. I did make just a few changes, but I followed the recipe. I brown sugared my bacon and baked it in the oven to cook. I used Bourbon Vanilla extract from Trader Joes and then I use Vanilla Salt (I infuse my own salts) and they turned out crispy on the outside and nice and soft inside! My husband is a huge bacon lover and I'm pregnant with a bacon craving. These cookies satisfied both of our cravings! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I halved the recipe in case we didn't care for them. I wish I would have gone ahead and made the whole batch. These are delicious. Addicting sweet/savory, perfect little cookies. My first batch spread a little more than I like so I just put the batter in the fridge for about and hour and used a small ice cream scoop and they turned out great. Used regular bacon (I don't care for maple flavor) and chopped the bacon so you could still see it and taste it. We will definately make these again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by bsblmom
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
WOW!!! Awesome cookie! I am always looking for something new and different and these fit the bill! I also used regular bacon... didn't want the extra sweetness of maple. The only change I made was that I used splenda instead of sugar. Will definately make these again. Bringing them to my Bible study tomorrow! Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsblmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Please pay attention to all of the 5-star reviews, particularly those who made no changes to the recipe, other than maybe using regular bacon rather than maple (I used regular bacon too) - because they are dead on accurate. I have to admit I made these today basically as an experiment out of curiosity. The chocolate-bacon combo has been a hot trend for awhile and I wanted to check it out for myself. Now I don't know if it's necessarily the bacon in these cookies that makes them so awesome good, but trust me and all the other 5-star reviewers, this is just a fantastic, perfect chocolate-chocolate chip cookie, one of the best I've ever tried as a matter of fact. I had Hubs try one without telling him the "mystery ingredient" and while he didn't notice the bacon, he quickly devoured it (eating the whole thing quickly is a VERY good sign of a VERY good cookie). I tried one myself and what struck me immediately was the lightness of this cookie - a completely different texture and density than others I've tried. I did notice the bacon, but perhaps only because I was looking for it -and the hint of it was nice, and just right. I wouldn't add any more. If the cookie is good already, what would be the point? And if I wanted a bacon cracker, or a bacon sandwich, I'd look for another recipe. These are delicious - moist, fudgey but light with just the slightest crispness on the surface. Trying this excellent chocolate-chocolate chip cookie today was sheer serendipity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
They were good, couldn't really taste the bacon. A little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by omahataxidriver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
When I saw bacon and chocolate chips together, I thought they would turn out nasty. Now, they're my new favorite. Combining the best of both worlds, meat and chocolate, This is simply delicious with a savory twist. The only thing I recommend is to not add 2 cups of chocolate chips- it can overpower the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Birmingham, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States