Chocolate-Chocolate Chip Bacon Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I wanted to try this as close to the recipe as I could. I used half butter, half Crisco and I chilled the dough during the kids' quiet time before baking. That was the only change I made. I used my small cookie scoop for uniform cookies and they were done at about ten minutes to the chewy-soft stage that our family likes. My kids and I fell in love with these. Oh em gee, you should have heard them go sideways over chocolate-bacon cookies. I recommend you use a quality maple bacon, I bought mine at Tacoma Boys, and I cooked it on tinfoil to crisp in the oven. This one's a keeper. I'd like to try this cookie dough recipe in Lovestohost's cupcakes! NOTE: I made a second batch today, this does work with all butter, as long as you chill the dough. These ARE absolutely delicious. Completely addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This is a great recipe, my granddaughter can hardly wait for me to make this again. My daughter was so impress she wrote about it on Facebook bragging on them. This is a keeper. Thanks for sharing....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Excellent cookies. Every year for Christmas I pick a new cookie to make and this year it was this one. I got mixed looks when I mentioned them, but everyone has been raving about them once tasted. I've always been a big fan of the salt/sweet combination and this one doesn't disappoint. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Moist, chewy and suprisingly really good!! I didn't use the maple bacon, just what I had on hand. Very good though. Just have to make sure not to have thick sliced bacon next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I had originally tried the bacon/chocolate combo in a cupcake, and after loving that, started searching for similar recipes! I made the recipe exactly as is, and so far it's delicious! We'll see what my husband thinks when he gets home...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I just had to make these...and they are delicious! The bacon is not overwhelming at all. I didn't have maple bacon so I added just a bit of maple extract...seemed to work just fine. Mine came out alittle flat but still very tasty! Can't wait for my family to try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clifton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
i won a cookie bake-off with this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I'm so happy that I took the chance on this recipe! These cookies are very chocolatey with just a hint of bacon. Definitely no overpowering bacon taste. A must try for any experimental baker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Everyone who tried these loved them. The bacon flavour is pretty subtle when the cookies are still warm but it gets a little more noticable once they cool down. I used 1 cup of crumbled bacon (it comes in bags by Hormel and Kirkland) and re-sauteed it down to about 3/4 cup of crispy bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
SOOOO GOOD! I made these for my boyfriend but they never got to him! My family and friends devoured them! My father even sent the recipe to all of his family on the east coast. Will absolutely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States