Chocolate-Chocolate Chip Bacon Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Excellent cookies! Love the texture and rich, chocloate flavor! I am going to make these for my family's cookie swap and see how they are received. Why have I never put bacon in cookies before?????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Maleski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loudon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I was expecting a stronger bacon flavor, but it's barely there -- and only when you get a piece in the bite. However, the cookie itself was very tasty and, like other posters have said, the texture was really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Walter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chittenango, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I made half the recipe, and followed the directions. My cookies didn't flatten out, but they still turned out fabulous. They were cakey and mosit, like a brownie. The bacon was excellent. We ate them in one day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I really like these cookies, they are very moist. The thing different i did with the recipe is I used a 1/2 cup of cocoa powder (because that is all i had left) but i think it was more than enough. I cooked the first batch for the recommended 12 min. and let them stand for 5 min. but they still fell apart on the wire rack. So the second batch I cooked for 14 min. and let stand for 7 minutes before transferring to the rack to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
WOW! I'll be honest, the 1st time I saw this recipe I was pregnant & wanted everything! I didn't make them b/c everyone else thought I was nuts (esp my hubby) so I saved the recipe. Well, I am no longer pregnant & decided to make them today just to see what they'd be like - I am NOT disappointed! I followed the recipe exactly (but did not have the maple bacon - I buy turkey bacon so I used that) It was hard not to use brown sugar in a chocolate chip cookie recipe but I resisted since I wanted to make it the exact way the author did. Make these! Do not change things around & give this recipe a lower rating than it deserves!! It's fantastic & I know I'll be making it again!! My 5 year old son just said, "Mmm! I like bacon!" :o) Can't wait for the hubs to get home & try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSmithRN04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA
Photo by TheHotPinkLady
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Absolutely delicious. My mother said they were the best cookies she'd ever eaten. I recommend substituting brown sugar for white for a richer flavor. Make sure to blend the *room-temperature* butter and sugar FIRST before you add any other ingredients, and use a handmixer. Otherwise, the butter is nearly impossible to fluff and will just break up and make the batter lumpy. I'd also recommend putting the bacon into a food processor to crumble so that the pieces are a consistent size. There is *very* little liquid in this recipe (just the eggs and vanilla), so the batter, with all the ingredients, is going to be extremely thick. I actually destroyed my handmixer trying to mix it (it started smoking and just broke), so I'd recommend only mixing this by working it with your hands or in a sturdy standing mixer. You can make the balls of batter tablespoon-sized for a bigger, more moist cookie, and don't flatten them! Refrigerate for one hour before baking so the cookies will be thick. I baked for 14 minutes, and they were flawless, or, bake them until the very outer edges have hardened slightly and the rest of the cookie is still very soft. My new favorite cookie of all time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by preta75
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Great cookies! Soft on the inside just the way I like it. My fiance loved them and was surprised at the "secret" ingredient. It is not an overpowering bacon flavor, but the whole point is to compliment. You take a bite and wonder what is that?...they are yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by preta75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly, and although this was a great cookie, we couldnt really taste the bacon. Every few bites we got some bacon, and it was a neat texter, but no bacon flavor as all. Overall, this is a super cookie for big chocolate lovers. It went great with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I had just phenomenal reviews when I made these cookies. I did make just a few changes, but I followed the recipe. I brown sugared my bacon and baked it in the oven to cook. I used Bourbon Vanilla extract from Trader Joes and then I use Vanilla Salt (I infuse my own salts) and they turned out crispy on the outside and nice and soft inside! My husband is a huge bacon lover and I'm pregnant with a bacon craving. These cookies satisfied both of our cravings! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I halved the recipe in case we didn't care for them. I wish I would have gone ahead and made the whole batch. These are delicious. Addicting sweet/savory, perfect little cookies. My first batch spread a little more than I like so I just put the batter in the fridge for about and hour and used a small ice cream scoop and they turned out great. Used regular bacon (I don't care for maple flavor) and chopped the bacon so you could still see it and taste it. We will definately make these again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States