Chocolate Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Severely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by envysion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by lmsbeckie
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Hands down best Cocolate Cake I've ever made. I didn't have margarine, so 1 cup of Butter did the trick. I highly doubt and tweeking or changes would make this any better. Just follow the directions and there is no reason this shouldn't come out right for you, pictures comming soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmsbeckie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
EXCELLENT. I didn't have margarine and so I used 1/2 C butter and 1/2 C canola oil. The cake is rich, moist, dense, and very chocolaty. The top does crack, but if you're careful, you can still have an attractive (and delicious) cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakeEnthusiast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
The PERFECT Chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yorkielova
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Hollywood, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Excellent cake, very dense and rich. I frosted with sour cream chocolate frosting. Worth the extra time it takes to put together. I used butter (margarine, at least the kind with trans fats) should not even be sold in stores anymore, let alone used by bakers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I need some advice please. Loved this cake and it's a great way to use up extra eggs I may have in the fridge! My attempt turned out well except the outside was a little too hard for me. Perhaps because I didn't use the foil? Or perhaps I need to try it at a different temp and/or bake time? Also, I usually don't have instant coffee in house so I'm thinking about substituting the coffee for cocoa next time. If anyone has some suggestions for me, it would be much appreciated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
omg my mom made somthing like this before good recipie but could use a bit of tweeking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Had to rate in the middle on this one. As a cake I did not care for it at all. Baking time is way off and after almost two hours I pulled it from the oven. The middle was still a bit gooey and the outside was hard enough it made cutting difficult. As many said it is brownie like so next baking I made it as brownies and one word...AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This is not one of our favorites for chocolate cake. But we did change it for a vanilla cake that came out good. All we did was omit the chocolate and coffee and add a Tablespoon of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States