Chocolate Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
EXCELLENT. I didn't have margarine and so I used 1/2 C butter and 1/2 C canola oil. The cake is rich, moist, dense, and very chocolaty. The top does crack, but if you're careful, you can still have an attractive (and delicious) cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakeEnthusiast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I need some advice please. Loved this cake and it's a great way to use up extra eggs I may have in the fridge! My attempt turned out well except the outside was a little too hard for me. Perhaps because I didn't use the foil? Or perhaps I need to try it at a different temp and/or bake time? Also, I usually don't have instant coffee in house so I'm thinking about substituting the coffee for cocoa next time. If anyone has some suggestions for me, it would be much appreciated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I had a difficult time with this cake. It took nearly two hours to bake and the inside, I feel, was still undercooked. My springform pan was 8 1/2 inches and I have a convection oven so don't know if that was the problem. Not sure if I would give it another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quiltflower
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
omg my mom made somthing like this before good recipie but could use a bit of tweeking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Severely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by envysion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by lmsbeckie
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Hands down best Cocolate Cake I've ever made. I didn't have margarine, so 1 cup of Butter did the trick. I highly doubt and tweeking or changes would make this any better. Just follow the directions and there is no reason this shouldn't come out right for you, pictures comming soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmsbeckie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I made this cake today ..everything went smooth except that the inside looks like its undercooked and the outside is a little hard..it kinda reminded me of brownies...the flavor is good though. Not sure what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: South Gate, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
THIS CAKE TOOK SOO LONG TO MAKE. I put it in the oven for one hour and when i took it out it was still the texture of batter except the sides were starting to cook. THen i put it in for another hour and by the end of that it was okay but the inside was still a little to uncooked. I followed the recipe exactly so I don't know why this happened. I suggest putting more flour in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yorkielova
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Hollywood, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Flavor is great but the cooking time is inaccurate...no way this was tested! After to hours it was still uncoiled in the middle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States