Chocolate Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
EXCELLENT. I didn't have margarine and so I used 1/2 C butter and 1/2 C canola oil. The cake is rich, moist, dense, and very chocolaty. The top does crack, but if you're careful, you can still have an attractive (and delicious) cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakeEnthusiast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I am in two minds about how to rate this cake. I had read other's reviews which said that the cake took ages to cook, and I intended to fill the cake anyway, so I decided to bake it in two shallow 9" pans instead of a 3" deep. Other than that, I followed the recipe to a tee. This is NOT a good chocolate cake. The top didn't just crack, it created a crisp almost crusty top, while the inside was still bordering on gooey. While trying to cut off the top, my husband commented that it looked more like brownies. It then struck me that this is an AWESOME brownie recipe. The dense, gooey texture of the "cake", the rich chocolate flavour and the crisp top is a 5 star brownie. I only wished I'd baked it in square tins, as I ended up cutting it into squares. 5 stars as brownies, 3 stars as cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lmsbeckie
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Hands down best Cocolate Cake I've ever made. I didn't have margarine, so 1 cup of Butter did the trick. I highly doubt and tweeking or changes would make this any better. Just follow the directions and there is no reason this shouldn't come out right for you, pictures comming soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmsbeckie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I made this cake today ..everything went smooth except that the inside looks like its undercooked and the outside is a little hard..it kinda reminded me of brownies...the flavor is good though. Not sure what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: South Gate, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I had a difficult time with this cake. It took nearly two hours to bake and the inside, I feel, was still undercooked. My springform pan was 8 1/2 inches and I have a convection oven so don't know if that was the problem. Not sure if I would give it another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quiltflower
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
THIS CAKE TOOK SOO LONG TO MAKE. I put it in the oven for one hour and when i took it out it was still the texture of batter except the sides were starting to cook. THen i put it in for another hour and by the end of that it was okay but the inside was still a little to uncooked. I followed the recipe exactly so I don't know why this happened. I suggest putting more flour in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
The PERFECT Chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Severely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by envysion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Had to rate in the middle on this one. As a cake I did not care for it at all. Baking time is way off and after almost two hours I pulled it from the oven. The middle was still a bit gooey and the outside was hard enough it made cutting difficult. As many said it is brownie like so next baking I made it as brownies and one word...AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
It was probably me, but this one turned into a giant brownie :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herndon, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States