Chocolate Chocolate Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This recipe is fabulous! I had 3 regular size (1.5 oz) Hershey bars in gthe freezer that I chopped up and added to the recipe. Awesome, awesome, awesome! My batch is being divided up to go into Christmas baskets for our neighbors. I'm sad to see them go away, but that might be the best thing considering I could easily eat the entire batch all by myself within a week. Yes, they're THAT good. ***UPDATED A YEAR LATER*** Wanted to pop back in and let everyone know we're making them again this year (Christmas 2009). Everyone asked for them. Simple. Easy. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I had to adjust this recipe for personal preference and items on hand - canola oil, 3 whole eggs and 1 tsp almond extract. Followed directions as written. By far, the best biscotti I have ever made, IMHO! Looking forward to sharing with my biscotti-loving family at the river over July 4th. Thank you, EHOLT for a winning recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Excellent. Had to make some changes and it worked beautifully. Used vegetable oil instead of olive oil because my olive oil is too fragrant. Also subbed splenda for the sugar because my hubby is a diabetic. Used semi sweet chips cuz I had no milk chocolate and added 1 cup of roughly chopped almonds. Terrific results. This will be my new chocolate biscotti recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2005
this was THE BEST biscotti I've ever had in my entire life! And I've been living a long time, I'm 87 and a half. Good job with this one it was AMAZING thank the lord you published it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This is a delicious biscotti- just perfect for my birthday party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
These turned out good. I thought I would have a hard time with them, but they were easy. Will use them for bake sales.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Very, very good! I followed the recipe except that I added chopped chocolate chips rather than the chocolate bar. The biscotti is crunchy on the outside and yet somewhat tender on the inside. I really like the texture. My husband, who doesn't like sweets, really like this due to the level of sweetness, which is a bit less than what one would think based on the sugar. My granddaughters also liked this very much. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mabank, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Very good biscotti but gave it 4 stars because after reading the reviews I used canola oil, and 3 whole eggs instead of the egg substitute. They taste rather nice but I'll have more feedback when I take them to a picnic tomorrow. I also didn't bake them until they were dried out. I like mine with just a little softness to them.... not as messy that way! Next time (and there will be a next time), I'm going to try adding almond extract as mentioned in one review. Maybe some nuts too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Very good! I had never made biscotti before and was concerned it would be difficult. It was a bit time consuming, but the result was worth it! Not too crunchy or sweet, but full of chocolate. I changed the recipe up a little by using three eggs instead of the substitute, canola oil instead of olive, and 3/4 cup of dark chocolate chips instead of the chopped chocolate bar. Very tasty, will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ampassante

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Camden, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
I didn't have the chocolate bar, so sub'd with 1 cup bittersweet choc chips. Yummy! Thanks for the recipe EHolt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States