Chocolate Chip Walnut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2001
Very rich tasting pie. Cool whip would work well too instead of the whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
Tried it for Thanksgiving and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
This is GREAT! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
I was worried about this recipe, but I promise it works out well! The spiced whipped cream is an especially nice touch. I also used more chocolate chips, less walnuts, but that's just my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
This was a disaster. I baked longer than recipe called for on bottom rack and the next morning when I cut the pies to take to a pot luck they oozed out of the pan in a gooey mess. A waste of time and money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELLAVISION

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
This is a very tasty dessert, but mine came out more like a giant cookie than a pie, so I was disappointed. I might have done something wrong, so I'll review this again when I've made the dessert a second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Melbourne Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This was great. Not sure how you can mess this up...unless you don't put the spice whipped cream on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adriane Ohrum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Oh my, oh my! When I found out that my dinner guest was going to be delayed, I decided that I would try to find a QUICK pie to fix, knowing chocolate pie was his favorite. When I came across this recipe, I decided to go for it as I happened to have all the ingrediants called for. I almost thought it was a mistake when it called for the ingrediants to be put into an already baked pie crust and baked again, but it's not. It got RAVE reviews, and is simple as, well, pie! I suggest that you try this recipe AS IS before fooling with it...it TRULY beggs for some rum extract, I think, but a FABULOUS and impressive pie all on it's own. Am making three for a funeral dinner tomorrow. P.S. If you have brown sugar, use it. This is the one of few recipes I've made that I really believe would be noteably downgraded by a substitute. FABULOUS. This is going to be one of my new favorites to make and take. One you can really be proud of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas City, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I was a little leary when I saw no butter or shortening. I'll go back to my own version of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jodyg
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This was yummy!! I thought it was going to be really dense but it was nice and light, just the right amount of sweetness. I used plain whipped cream as I didn't have any cream on hand to whip so I'll definitely make it with the flavored cream next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodyg
Living In: Rockhampton, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States