Chocolate Chip Toffee Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I think these are ok. However, I went to my husbands corporate christmas party last night and everyone he introduced me to said, "ohhhhh! Youre the one who makes those "things" they are incredible!!" So, for having a stellar reputation before I even walk through the door this recipe gets 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELISSABEAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I've been making these every Christmas for years and are my most requested cookie. They are awesome! Since they don't make Skor bits anymore, I buy regular Skor candy bars and crush them in a ziploc bag--you will need 7-8 candy bars for this(Rite-Aid pharmacy usually has them on sale for 4/$1.00 before the holidays).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Wow! It really is that good. It's a little time consuming, but worth it. I add walnuts in so that it does remind me of a chocolate chip cookie. I also buy a bag of the heath bits in the baking section and use the entire bag. Turns out rich and delicious every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Holladay, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I stumbled across this recipe on the back of the toffee chips bag years ago (it's no longer there). The sweetened, condensed milk makes them moist and flavorful. I have always modified the recipe by using milk chocolate chips and omitting the nuts. The result is NOT your average cookie bar!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
These are delicious and very hard to stop eating. My oven must bake a little hotter because they were done at 24 minutes. My husband has always been a huge fan of 7 layer bars and says these are better. I especially like the fact that no mixer is involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I made a few alteration on this bar and it turned out fantastic! First I doubled the crumb mixture. I found I did not have eonough to coat the bottom of the 13 x 9 pan and have some for the topping. Next, I used a whole bag of toffee chips. I found heath chips at WalMart. I covered the layer of milk with toffee chips. I used slivered almonds in these bars to give it a "candy bar" apeal and taste. On top of the whole thing I used 1/4 bag of chocolate toffee bits. Man were they rich but melt in your mouth yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Rico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Valley, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dixon, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
yum!!I will add less chocolate chips next time but that is just a perosnal preferance
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
OMG be warned, these are delicious! They didn't last long! My husband agreed that they needed more toffee- next time I will use more toffee and a little less chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TracieT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Excellent recipe. I followed the directions exactly and they produced a delicious bar. I cut them in small pieces because they are very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
These are wonderful. Very rich as others have noted. Hubby and roomate LOVED them. I think next time I might put butterscotch or peanut butter chips on top for a variation. These are a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JNB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States