Chocolate Chip Toffee Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I've been making these every Christmas for years and are my most requested cookie. They are awesome! Since they don't make Skor bits anymore, I buy regular Skor candy bars and crush them in a ziploc bag--you will need 7-8 candy bars for this(Rite-Aid pharmacy usually has them on sale for 4/$1.00 before the holidays).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I made a few alteration on this bar and it turned out fantastic! First I doubled the crumb mixture. I found I did not have eonough to coat the bottom of the 13 x 9 pan and have some for the topping. Next, I used a whole bag of toffee chips. I found heath chips at WalMart. I covered the layer of milk with toffee chips. I used slivered almonds in these bars to give it a "candy bar" apeal and taste. On top of the whole thing I used 1/4 bag of chocolate toffee bits. Man were they rich but melt in your mouth yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Rico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Valley, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dixon, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I thought these were good although I had a hard time getting them out of the pan. You definately have to let them cool completely before taking them out of the pan. Very rich and chewy. Even though I thought these were tasty they remained untouched at my Christmas get together. No one was interested in them but me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This is a really yummy easy recipe. I do however think that the directions are written in a very confusing manner and you MUST read them a few times before making them. The way it describes the layering can get weird if you dont pay attention. My opinion anyway! I only buy chocolate chips in 12 ounce bags so I used only that rather than 2 cups. I omited the nuts and used a bag of crushed heath bar. These were great bars, not overy sweet thanks to the bottom crust. Make sure that you do not cook par cook the crust longer than the 15 minutes. Cool COMPLETELY before cutting, therwise you will have a gooey mess with the warm condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss_whisk

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Meh. Don't see what all the fuss is about. They tasted like a bunch of ingredients thrown together and as a result there wasn't any "wow" or "pop" and they are very, very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I think these are ok. However, I went to my husbands corporate christmas party last night and everyone he introduced me to said, "ohhhhh! Youre the one who makes those "things" they are incredible!!" So, for having a stellar reputation before I even walk through the door this recipe gets 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELISSABEAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Pretty good. Could use more toffee chips, you could barely taste them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
SO good. A big hit with the guests :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brigette aka Wine Snob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Nice, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
These were delicious and came out beautifully . I used almonds and would probably use pecans next time. These were pretty easy too. I lined my pan w/ foil and sprayed it w/ Pam for Baking and had no problems with sticking, they came out great. I would definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
These are wonderful. Very rich as others have noted. Hubby and roomate LOVED them. I think next time I might put butterscotch or peanut butter chips on top for a variation. These are a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JNB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States