Chocolate Chip Shortbread Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
OMG! These cookies are incredible! I made these for my husband for our 1st wedding anniversary and put them tucked inside a cookie box with tissue paper and a note since for the first anniversary the theme is paper. I hope he enjoys these. I snuck a couple and they taste like something out of a bakery! I cut the recipe in half and used almond extract instead of coconut. I also used walnuts instead of pecans. For the chips I used dark chocolate then melted the rest to do various decorations that you'll see in my picture. Fabulous recipe that I'll definitely do again at Christmas to give to neighbors and relatives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I hate to rate a recipe when I have to make alterations to it, but I didn't have nuts so I used extra choc chips and almond extract instead of coconut - turned out awesome. I did burn my first try, but that could be my tempermental oven, I used parchment paper for the rest of them. This is a very versital easy recipe - you could change the mix-ins and extracts. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
Ohhhhhhh YUM! The cookies are soooo good! My hubby & 3 boys loved them, and I'm having a very hard time restraining myself from eating all of them! I did however, substitute almond extract for the coconut, and the almond subtley comes through. Will have them baking in my house during the holidays!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
I used the pecans in these cookies, and my family loved them. We have always been big fans of shortbread cookies, and these had the extra flavour of the pecans. If you keep them in a tin, they will last a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
OUTSTANDING!! This is the third Christmas in a row that I have made these; they are wonderful. I can't make them any other time of the year because I can't stop eating them! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, it is one of my favorites from the allrecipe site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I have been using this recipe for years (with the exception of the coconut extract and nuts). We all love this cookie. (4 stars as written, 5 stars my version) My recipe does call for 2 cups of chocolate chips. I like the additional amount of chocolate. Mini chips, regular size semi-sweet or dark chocolate chips all work well. These cookies also good to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Deeeelicious! I have to admit I adjusted the recipe quite a bit, but they turned out so perfect, I'll definitely try the recipe again. I didn't have vanilla or coconut extracts, so I used a carob and orange liqueur I had bought while on holiday (3 tsps), cinnamon (1 tsp) and cocoa (1 tbsp). The toasted pecans were so tasty I added a few extra, and I didn't have chocolate chips so I broke up a slab of lindt dark chocolate that had nuts and maybe bits of peel (?) in it as well. I also used brown sugar as I didn't have confectioners sugar. The result was fantastic. Really, really, tasty. My only regret is that I had scaled down the recipe so much as they didn't last long! I think I will make a Christmas version later on with orange essence and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Wonderful recipe! I love the simple flavor of these cookies. I only had salted butter so I cut out the additional salt. I baked mine for 12 minutes and they got a bit too brown. Also be sure to only let them sit a minute on the sheet before removing. I left mine on too long and they were stuck to the cookie sheet. Thanks for the great recipe! I wish I could give them 4-1/2 stars really because the flavor is awesome, but the cooking time didn't work out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamler, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nilla
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This is one of my very favorite cookie recipes. I always leave out the nuts though - just because I don't care for nuts and my family doesn't either. This is so easy to put together and has wonderful flavor and texture. I was not so sure about the coconut extract, I thought that sounded a bit odd but it's subtle and it's wonderful. Even my husband who does not care for coconut eats these cookies. I definitely recommend this recipe. I might even use the base of this recipe next time and use different flavorings - almond, lemon?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I made these cookies for a work function and they were a huge hit! I subsituted the coconut extract for almond and it turned out wonderful. I only made half the recipe and now I regret it because everyone wants more. Best cookie that I've had in a while!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States