Chocolate Chip Shortbread Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by nilla
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This is one of my very favorite cookie recipes. I always leave out the nuts though - just because I don't care for nuts and my family doesn't either. This is so easy to put together and has wonderful flavor and texture. I was not so sure about the coconut extract, I thought that sounded a bit odd but it's subtle and it's wonderful. Even my husband who does not care for coconut eats these cookies. I definitely recommend this recipe. I might even use the base of this recipe next time and use different flavorings - almond, lemon?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This is a nice twist on shortbread. I'm pretty traditional myself when it comes to shortbread, but thought that I would give something new a shot. My bf really likes them. The pecans are a nice touch. Will make them again soon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melfort, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Taber, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
These did not turn out at all. Too much flour as it wouldn't bind together well. First batch burned so I lowered to 325 and rest were okay but nothing special like others wrote.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
These were great!! Although I love shortbread...add chococlate chips...all the better. I made these to take into work since I am trying to raise money for the breast cancer walk I'm participating in later this month. I found if I take baked goods into work and put a collection bowl next to them I can make a good donation for the cause. I have friends with nut allergies so I left out the pecans and added a few extra mini chips. I also didn't have the coconut extract so just added a bit extra vanilla. MmmmmMmmmm good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
DELICIOUS! I used heath bar bits instead of pecans, and to say these were a hit would be a HUGE understatement!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
These were excellent! I was out of eggs, but craving chocolate chip cookies, and this did the trick for sure. Yes, they're shortbread-type cookies - not traditional chewy CC cookies - but still very good. I scaled the recipe down to 24 servings (1/2 c butter, 1/2 c powdered sugar, etc.) and left out the coconut extract and pecans, so they were just plain ol' chocolate chip cookies, which is what I wanted. Yum! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlemrslarge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
They were ok, quite bland, not sure if I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Yummy! They were crispy and buttery, even though I only used 1 stick plus 3 tbsp. of butter. I also splurged on the coconut extract. Yum!! I don't think it's neccesary to dust them with powdered sugar after baking - it doesn't make them look prettier, and they're already sweet enough. Good recipe! *Later notes* They are MUCH better when they're warm and fresh! By the way, I would decrease the sugar a little next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnutty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
This is my new favorite cookie recipe! I left out the chocolate chips and coconut extract, and didn't toast the pecans, but they came out GREAT. Perfect texture and flavor, super easy, and no fancy ingredients necessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
These were good cookies. I made them for a cookie exchange, and the chocolate chip aspect made them a little different. I've had shortbread cookies that were a little more buttery, and that crumbled better, so while this one is a good cookie, I'll keep looking for the "Perfect" shortbread cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States