Chocolate Chip Shortbread Cookie Logs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
yum! I made mine into 1" balls and flattened them. Then I dipped half the cookie in the choclate/shortening mixture THEN rolled the edge of the cookie (with the chocolate on it) into crushed candy cane.. drooool. If you like mint chocolate then you will love the candy cane on it :) Thanks for a great cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
i would like to have given 5 stars, but found we needed to add a splash of milk to dough to get logs to hold shape. No other problems, recipe was easy and delicious. My mother gives 5 stars, but she didn't bake them, just ate them. I will absolutely make these again, and especially for parties and events. A very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
These were tasty, but a bit dry. Also... I first tried making the dipping chocolate using butter for the "shortening" and it didn't turn out at all.... so shortening means shortening - when I used Crisco, they coated beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSDORKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Portola Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
This recipe is excellent. I followed it exactly & did not let the bottoms get too brown. They will truly melt in your mouth! I did half dipped and the other half lightly drizzled with the chocolate. Place the cookie sheet in the refrigerator to help the chocolate set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
I made these for a wedding reception - what a hit! They were so easy to make and looked so nice on the cookie trays. And everyone raved about them. I'm making them again for Christmas cookie trays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
These turned out great! I followed the recipe exactly and had no problems with them breaking. Maybe cut the baking time by a minute and they won't be so dry...aka the breaking. Wonderful cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Amazing cookie! I forgot to add the mini chips into the first batch, but both with and without them, they're delicious. The only problem I had with them is that more than half the batch broke while I was dipping them. I waited until they cooled to take off cookie sheet as called for, but many broke.. maybe that's a positive thing because I had to eat all of those ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danasweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA
Living In: Loma Linda, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
It's true! I made this for a holiday cookie exhange and won both "best use of chocolate" and the grand daddy award for "best over all cookie". It pleased both the adult and children judges. I dipped the ends 3 different ways...assuring to garner the votes of the various judges. Ha! I dipped some in just plain chocolate on both ends, some in chocolate with nuts and the remainder in chocolate then in red and white non pareil balls which made for a festive, eye catching cookie. The recipe is good the way it is but it is a fairly soft dough because of the shortbread texture so be cautious. The chocolate dip using shortening was perfect and melted nicely in the microwave. Be sure to try this recipe and make sure you have the red and white non pareils to top it off. It's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
I tried these for the first time the other day and they were easy to make and they were delicious! They were the hit of the Christmas party I made them for! All gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
If there was a ********** rating i would rate that for this recipe. Extremely easy to make and a mouthwatering finished product. I would reccomend this recipe to any person who appreciates a good crispy cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States