Chocolate Chip Shortbread Cookie Logs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 18, 2005
These may be my favorite cookies of all time; not too sweet and seem to melt in your mouth. My variation: put in some almond extract in addition to vanilla and substituted the choco chips with ground almonds. After cooled, I then topped with dulce de leche or chocolate and dipped in finely ground fresh coconut and/or almonds. Exceptional base recipe with so many options. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MASMAY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
I just made these tonight and it's AMAZING!! my dad who usually won't eat any cookie had one and went back for seconds and thirds!! I didn't add any choc chips into the mixture. I had some plain, some drizzled with chocolate, some half-coated with chocolate and coated with almond flakes - the combination is gorgeous! I melted the choc chips on HIGH in the microwave and then coated the cookies - it worked well even without shortening. I had to watch the baking time - don't let the bottoms get too brown!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Delicious! I substituted chopped macademia nuts for the chocolate chips and walnuts and used Ghirardelli milk chocolate baking chips for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
i love this recipe! easy to make and a very good treat even without the nuts. A definite *thumps up*.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
Easy and delicious! My boyfriend LOVES these...even without the chocolate topping! The butter is the key. Don't skimp and use butter flavored shortening (learn from my mistake as I was short butter when making a double batch so I split it), as you don't get the same 'shortbread' richness. I also find that I had to double the ingredients to make a decent batch. I've tried a few other ingredients too. I've made it with crushed Macademia nuts instead of mini chocolate chips in the cookie, and also for the topping when using chips in the cookie. I've also used regular chips instead of mini and it works fine. Instead of dipping one end, I find it easier, and cleaner, to just dip the top of the cookie lenghtwise in the chocolate, and then dip it again in whatever topping. (Coconut works, and tastes great too!) That way, you get the chocolate and topping in every bite! That is, if you can manage to eat one of these in two bites! Have fun trying. I like this recipe because even if I don't have what the original recipe calls for, I always seem to have something in the cupboard that will work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Kalaheo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
Wow!These are just what Ive been looking for-light,but sweet,and they look beautiful on a pretty plate!Im taking these for my daughters little Pre-K party for Valentines'.I know Ill need copies of this wonderful recipie!Ver easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
This recipe was great! Every time I make them I am asked for the recipe. I always have it printed up on recipe cards before I bring the cookies somewhere. I have tried a lot of shortbread recipes and this is the best so far, definatly a keeper! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
i followed another member's suggestion, forming flat rounds and dipping one side into chocolate, then into crushed candy canes.. they were ridiculously good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
Excellent shortbread cookie recipe! These are exactly like an italian bakery in my hometown makes... everyone loved this version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
These were tasty, but a bit dry. Also... I first tried making the dipping chocolate using butter for the "shortening" and it didn't turn out at all.... so shortening means shortening - when I used Crisco, they coated beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSDORKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Portola Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States