Chocolate Chip Shortbread Cookie Logs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I wish I could give more stars. Love, love, love. And have beed asked for the recipe many times. The taste is sensational and they look so pretty. Can't say enough. Oh and pretty easy too. No problems - dough is easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
First, let me say that the end result is very tasty. I do not like overly sweet cookies, so these are perfect for me. I had a horrible cooking day, though. First, the dough was too delicate and sticky to roll into nice logs. Added about 1/4 cup flour. Too floury, so I added a little more sugar and another tsp. of vanilla. The dough was finally manageable and tasty. I still couldn't get pretty rolls out of them, so I made flattened rounds, about the size of vanilla wafers. I got 49 cookies of that size out of my batch. (Baked at 325 degrees for 10-11 minutes. Texture was perfect.) I half-dipped the cookies and tried to drizzle white chocolate on top. I must have a bad case of Christmas nerves, because even that went wrong. (I'm an artist and it HAD to be perfect.) So, even though I was very frustrated at the end, the cookies themselves are attractive and very good. I'll try making them again after the holidays. I'm sure I'll do better next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma Minerva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I loved this recipe! I made them rounds instead of logs Also, I omitted the chocolate chips in the cookies, but just dipped them instead I used regular sugar instead of the confectioner's, too and it was fabulous! Alot less crumbling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I made these for my christmas cookie tins and was very pleased with the end result. Melt in your mouth kind of cookie with good texture. I also added skor baking chips along with the mini chocolate chips. Sooo rich!! I omitted the nuts at the end and just left them with the plain chocolate dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Oh wow these were awesome...the cookie part is fantastic and melts in your mouth, and the chocolate and nuts (I used pecans) on the one end just make this cookie perfect. There's nothing that could make it better. They look SO pretty and they taste just incredible...a new cookie cookie staple at my place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Great holiday gift-giving type cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogers, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Really yummy! I used hazelnuts instead of walnuts because I had them on hand. And I just microwaved the chocolate and shortening for dipping because I don't have a double boiler. I definitely did not get 4 dozen cookies out of this recipe though, only 2 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Absolutely FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Excellent. I used grated chocolate instead of chocolate chips to make the dough smoother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Um, WOW! This is the first shortbread recipe that I've made and it was not only easy but also a no fail recipe. I didn't have chocolate chips on hand but had Ande's chocolate mint baking pieces. I used those in the logs and melted chocolate bars for dipping half of the log. I knew that shortening would have been the ideal ingrediant with the chocolate for dipping, but used butter because I didn't have shortening. It worked fine. I know, not very prepared. :-) I think that's a great idea with the crushed candy cane. Thank you Rhonda for sharing such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ande16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States