Chocolate Chip Shortbread Cookie Logs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I made these for the family, they were a big hit! I changed up the recipe a bit, I made cookies and put the chocolate on top with the walnuts. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Yumm! these were great and fun to make. I have an allergy to nuts so I dipped the ends of my cookies into rainbow sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I have never made shortbread cookies so I read the reviews prior to making them. I decided to make them into balls and flatten them. Then I dipped the cookies in milk chocolate and sprinkled with crushed candy cane! I also did some dipped in milk chocolate and drizzled with white chocolate! What a great cookie to look at! I thought they were yummy but also couldn't get more than 2 dozen from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TracieT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
really nice. make smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mullica Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
These were relaly easy to make and tasted great. I think next time I make them I will do as another reviewer suggested and make small round cookies and dip helf in the chocolate. I found it really hard to dip both sides. Also I used a nut topping instead of walnuts since I don't really like them. These were the first of all my holiday cookies to disappear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Very easy to make and tasty too. For half of the cookies, I just dipped one end into the chocolate; for the other half of the cookies, I just left plain. Tasty, either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxie
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I'd give it more Stars if I could! These were by far the BEST Cookies I have ever made, and far better than store-bought! Just make sure you really wait for them to cool completely before removing them from the Baking Sheet! Also, after dipping the ends in the Chocolate, I sprinkled the Nuts on top rather than rolling the Logs in them. There are so many other Variations of this I must try, there are so many Possibilities! Update: I made another batch last night, but I made them flat and dipped half in melted white Chocolate. Today I made them with dried Cranberries instead of Chocolate Chips and Orange Extract instead of the Vanilla. Then I also added a little Orange Extract in the melted Chocolate! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nürnberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Lodi, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Wow did these ever take a while to get down, but oh so worth it. I didn't know how thick to make the 2.5 inch "logs" and so there was some muddling around - finally realized I only had like 29 rolls, so had to go back and re-roll the logs! Baking them was just fine - no problem - they were slightly brown and I let them cool and they were nice and crisp - no trouble with breakage at all. The problem came with dipping - I'm not used to doing this and it took some commitment to get it just so. I confess my first batch I just dipped one side. The other problem was my walnut pieces were too big out of the bag - and when I went to pulse them in the food processor, they then became too small. This time (tomorrow) I'm going to hit them with a mallet and try to get them just right! To make a long story longer, hubby ate one cookie and promptly asked me to make a batch for his work!!! He has NEVER asked me to do such a thing in all our years together (15). Tomorrow I'm going to use half chocolate dipping ends and half peanut butter for dipping. Yumillee!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifur

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Cerrito, California, USA
Living In: Aloha, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This was my first time baking. These turned out great.. the only thing I added was peanut butter chips with the choc chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim and jay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
These are very good, but also very hard to work with. The dough seemed fine to mold, and shape, but when they were done, they fell apart so easily. I might try them in another form instead of logs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana Melton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States