Chocolate Chip Shortbread Cookie Logs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
It's true! I made this for a holiday cookie exhange and won both "best use of chocolate" and the grand daddy award for "best over all cookie". It pleased both the adult and children judges. I dipped the ends 3 different ways...assuring to garner the votes of the various judges. Ha! I dipped some in just plain chocolate on both ends, some in chocolate with nuts and the remainder in chocolate then in red and white non pareil balls which made for a festive, eye catching cookie. The recipe is good the way it is but it is a fairly soft dough because of the shortbread texture so be cautious. The chocolate dip using shortening was perfect and melted nicely in the microwave. Be sure to try this recipe and make sure you have the red and white non pareils to top it off. It's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Easy, turned out wonderful great hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
These are one of our family favorite cookies of all time! These should be called by their proper name, however. They are called "Jane Flanagan Cookies".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
My mom used to make something similar every Christmas. I followed this recipe exactly and they turned out great. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mphelps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
very pretty and tasty. Not as nice as a traditional shortbread recipe and a wee bit drier but still good and will make again. Did not add the chocolate chips as would overpower the cookie. I did roll them out quite petite and found dipping the logs in chocolate at either end and then in crushed pecans was enough added sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Turmed out great. Thank You, Carol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
i'm not sure if i made these wrong or what, but they did not turn out for me.. 1) they're waay to dry 2) the chocolate was sorta.. just weird. 3) they just are not that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahkate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I have been making these for a few years- always a hit. Some tips- cookies are fragile. Be sure to follow directions to cool completely before removing from cookie sheets. Chilll them before dipping into chocolate to prevent breakage. I suggest using insulated cookie sheets to prevent the bottoms from getting too brown. I make more chocolate dpping sauce than receipt calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nowelle
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This was an easy recipe. It turned out great and IS very crumbly so be careful to let them cool first. I don't really like thickness of these though. It's too much cookie that tastes bland with some chocolate on it. I will amend the recipe next time to copy, somewhat, the popular shortbread found in the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nowelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ibake
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
These cookies are awesome. They are super easy and fast, yet present beautifully. These will be on all my holiday menus, in gift trays, etc. Actually, I screwed up the instructions (my error, not the author's) and they still came out sooo good. My husband said "You can put them in the freezer, but they're not going to last very long!" I think next time I make them, I will do so without mixing in the chips and make little saucers, then spread the chocolate on top and make a sandwich - basically a rip off of the Milano. I love this cookie! Update: made the cookies again, minus the mini-chips in the dough. Rolled into 1 in. balls then flattened into saucers. After baking I dipped them in chocolate, then into chopped white chocolate. They looked awesome and tasted really good, but everyone like the first batch (with choc. chips) better. I'll make them both ways again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States