Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I've never made scones before but I was quite impressed with how these turned out! However I would use less chocolate hips as the ratio of dough to chocolate was low!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
When I made this I did what others recommended, I swapped out the cream of tarter and baking soda with 2t of baking powder and swapped out the applesauce with 4T of butter. My second time around I put in blueberries instead of chocolate chips, the chocolate chips were too sweet for my tastes. My second time around it was very delicious. My 16 month old daughter couldn't get enough of either recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I would normally rate these 1 star because I baked these to the original recipe to the letter and the texture was bad/rubbery, but I added back a star because I saw all the comments suggesting changes that I didn't make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
It was an okay recipe for a scone. I would classify this more as a biscuit in terms of texture. I made this one night and waited until they had cooled completely before putting them in a container. The next day I had one out of the container at room temp and it lost the crunchy outside and instead the whole thing was chewy. Not sure if I'd make this again and if I did I would definitely make changes like adding oil instead of all applesauce to make it less chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
It tasted good, but the batter was very sticky and the final product was almost like a chewy bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I love this recipe. Very delicious. Little but chewy but very good. I only baked them for 13 minutes. Definatley worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
For a no-butter recipe, these were great! I added a scant tsp of almond extract, which gave them a slightly sweet flavor and made the house smell great. I also baked them for only 10-11 minutes, as someone suggested and they turned out well. They were good enough and easy enough that I actually made a second batch the next day so that I'd have some in the freezer. Thanks GODGIFU for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
They tasted good by they were not flaky like most scones I have made before...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I read the reviews and decided to just try it as this was the only recipe I could find that I had all the ingredients for.. I should have just substituted something for one of the other recipes. I dont mean to be rude, but honestly, the only thing good about this recipe is the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
YUMMY!!! We love these! We like to add some dried cranberries to the batter!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States