Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
Chocolate chip & pumpkin, what a combination! After making this recipe I thought the pumpkin taste was too bitter and I found I wanted to taste the spices more, so next time I used 1 & 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg...also, 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar, and 1/2 unsalted butter and 1/2 shortening. I also made them with and without the walnuts, and they're much better with them. They're a great, unusual addition to my Christmas cookie baking and were a hit with everyone who's tried them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
I got rave reviews from adults and kids with a modified version of the recipe. I used butter instead of shortening. 28 OZ of Pumpkin Puree. I doubled the cinnamon and added two teaspoons of Pumkin Pie Spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
This recipe makes a lot! I halved it and still came out with 66 cookies/cakes. I wouldn't call these cookies--much more like little cakes--very moist--they were sticky the next day. I used sliced almonds instead of walnuts and they tasted really good. The texture was odd, unlike anything I've ever eaten. When I placed them on the cookie sheet, they were in little mounds and I expected them to melt down and flatten as cookies do but they didn't. Whatever shape you place them in on the rack is the shape they will have when baked. The batter would work well in molds or rings to create an autumn treat. Good flavor but I added more cinnamon and nutmeg because I like these flavors. My husband's golf buddies ate them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
I really love these cookies! They are very different from regular cookies . . . a bit like cake, but very good. I used only 1/2 tsp. of salt and put in an entire bag of chocolate chips. I also left out the walnuts, which were optional anyway. My husband requested that I use raisins next time. One thing I would say is that to me pumpkin cookies never taste as good the first day. The second day the flavors just seem to come together and the taste is much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aloha, Oregon, USA
Living In: Syracuse, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Oh my goodness....these are SO good! Very easy to make. The leftover batter I first refrigerated then formed into logs and then placed in the freezer for easy baking later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
These are so yummy, but I made a few adjustments. As others before me have said, I doubled the pumpkin (and the chocolate chips), used pumpkin pie spice along with the cinammon, baking Splenda instead of sugar, and unsweetened applesauce instead of the fat. The result is something no one can stay away from. I am making these again ASAP! DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2002
Great cookies! Husband ate them quickly! They could use slightly less flour though. I used a bit more cinnamon and nutmeg and also added ground cloves and ginger. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
My hubby and kids thought that they were okay, however I didn't. They were flavorless. I was looking for a recipe that tasted like the pumpkin cookies they have at Ralph's grocery store, and this wasn't it. I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
The reviews were right on. My family loved them and my grandchildren enjoyed making them. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
These cookies, or should I say little cakes, were very good. I left out the salt, and added 2 tsp. gd. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. nutmeg. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States