Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I've been making pumpkin chocolate chip cookies for years and my kids beg for them. But I lost my recipe, so I tried this one. It was really very good. I used butter because I didn't have shortening, and I used pumpkin pie spice instead of the cinnamon and nutmeg. I still think it needs more spice flavor, so next time I'll use a tablespoon of pumpkin pie spice. Otherwise, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
They aren't as smooth as the picture, but sooooo good. I doubled the pumpkin and used butter instead of shortening. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I halved this recipe and the only change I made was to up the spices and choc chips a tad. I didn't use nuts. They are very airy and moist inside but with a slightly harder exterior. Maybe they will be better cold the next day, but they just don't taste like much! No spice, not very sweet -I thought these were going to be like the cake-like pumpkin cookies I've had in the past, but guess I got the wrong recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I made these cookies for a holiday potluck at work and I thought they were awful. There was one person who loved them and I sent him home with all of them. I saw that a few users posted modifications to the original recipe, which I feel may have made them better - but I am reviewing the original recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenview, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I used 1 stick margarine and 1 stick of butter instead of shortening, and 1 cup of brown sugar and 1 cup of white sugar instead of 2 cups of white one (as someone from reviewers recommended) and 2 cups of chocolate chips (omit the nuts). It turned out absolutely perfect! My kids LOVED it! Thank you very much for sharing the recipe! Great addition to my recipe box!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TutieCutie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
These cookies are a hit. you can't even tell there's pumpkin in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jill Janae
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This is a new Fall Family Favorite! I did make one addition as I thought it needed something! So...I use an ice cream scoop to get the right size...BIG! Then cool cookies on racks and when cool...slice them in half and add a layer of cream cheese frosting (I just use canned). They look so pretty when finished and great for gift giving! Have fun with this one! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Janae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I made these cookies for my sorority and every member, even those who don't like pumpkin, loved the cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I followed recipe exactly except added more nutmeg and cinnamon, they are very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I'm eating these as I type and they're so good! The only changes I made were to use fresh pumpkin instead of canned (whipped it well with the butter/sugar mixture to get out lumps), and cardomom instead of nutmeg. I LOVE the interesting depth it added to the pumpkin. I'll "test" one more before putting them away...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizMagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States