Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
These get 5 stars after making some modifications. First, I increased the spices - didn't measure but I'll guess it was double the cinnamon + some ginger, nutmeg, and a tiny bit of cloves. Second, I used 1/2 white and 1/2 whole wheat flour. Third, I used a little extra pumpkin and a little less oil (plus the oil I used was extra virgin olive oil). Fourth, I cut back on the sugar by about 1/3 of a cup or maybe a bit more. Finally, I added in a handful of walnuts, a handful of raisins, & a handful of chocolate chips. These changes made for a perfectly spiced, moist, very pumpkiny, not too sweet, healthier version of the posted recipe. They were really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This was a good basic recipe. I usually like the gooey, moist pumpkin cookies and these ones were a little more cake-like and dry when I cooked them for 11 minutes. I tried taking them out at 9 minutes and that resulted in a really yummy, gooey cookie though I agree they did taste better with nuts. **Additional note. i put the batch of cookies in a ziplock bag and the next day they tasted SO MUCH better and were so much more moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly O

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
these are THE best pumpkin chocolate cookies I have ever had! My few changes were: 1/2 semi-sweet and 1/2 milk chocolate chips. 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar. And a little extra pumpkin. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I have almost the exact same recipe that my grandma gave me. There are only a couple changes: Add 4 tsp. baking powder, use only 1 tsp. vanilla and only 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips. Then, bake at 375 for 8-9 minutes. They turn out wonderful and moist every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
This is a great basic recipe. I'm a health nut so I replaced half the all-purpose flour with whole wheat pastry flour. I added 1 tsp. powdered ginger, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg and 1/4 tsp. cloves to solve the "kind of bland" problem noted in other reviews. I did reduce the pumpkin by 1-1/2 oz. because I was using a large can and needed the other half for pumpkin pie. I was able to cut the oil back to 3/4 of a cup as well. Everything still worked. If you replace the milk called for with 1/3 of a cup you can make muffins or pumpkin bread. (I spooned half the cookie batter as is into muffin tins and it worked but the batter was just a little too stiff.) I wouldn't waste my money on the store-bought cookies after trying these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
These cookies were a big hit. I used pecans instead of walnuts, 1 tsp of cinnamon, & 1 1/2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice. My only beef is that I felt there were too many chocolate chips, the chocolate really overpowered the pumpkin flavor (I did use a fresh pumpkin instead of canned - maybe that had something to do with it??) Other than that they tasted pretty yummy. Next time I will probably use 1 instead of 2 cups of chocolate chips and I will throw in 1/4 tsp of ginger to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I love these- perfect recipe for using up the second half of a large can of pumpkin. Not only are they dairy free (I have an child allergic to milk) but they taste JUST like the cookies we love from our local grocery store (Fred Meyer). Easy and quick to make, you don't have to wait for the butter to soften, because there isn't any! A hit in our house with adults and children alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra Gomlak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xocolat
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
These cookies were good, but the dough seemed too runny when I went to put them in the oven, so I added some flour, which I think was a mistake, as they tasted a little too floury. Just chilling the dough probably would've done the trick. I also added extra cinnamon but some nutmeg or allspice might have added a little kick. Will try them again, but with less oil, no extra flour, and perhaps some nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Santiago De Compostela, Galicia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by becky
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
These pumpkin cookies were a HUGE HIT! I've had neighbors knocking on my door all day asking for just one more! The only thing that I changed from the recipe was that I added more cinnamon, some nutmeg, and some pumpkin pie spice to taste. Also, I left out the walnuts. I will definitely be making these again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by becky

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Five stars because the texture is great, and they could not be easier to make! My seven year old twins insisted that we post this review because they want everyone to know how much they enjoyed eating them! After reading other reviews, we added a little ginger, nutmeg and cloves (just a pinch of each) Flavor was great. We made half with nuts and half without, I think they are better without because texture is so mellow - I like to let them melt in my mouth! Great recipe for cool autumn day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaysville, Utah, USA
Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States