Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Five stars because the texture is great, and they could not be easier to make! My seven year old twins insisted that we post this review because they want everyone to know how much they enjoyed eating them! After reading other reviews, we added a little ginger, nutmeg and cloves (just a pinch of each) Flavor was great. We made half with nuts and half without, I think they are better without because texture is so mellow - I like to let them melt in my mouth! Great recipe for cool autumn day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaysville, Utah, USA
Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
This is an excellent cookie! Moist, yet firm with just the right amount of chocolate chips. I did leave out the walnuts, though. I will make this cookie recipe a permanent part of my recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Irvine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
We were out of oats (which most pumpkin cookies call for) so I did a search and this baby popped up. It was SO YUMMY! We were wary, as it looked a little runny, but boy did they fool us! They plumped up nicely and were VERY moist. Best Pumpkin Chocolate Chip recipe EVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This was the exact recipe I was looking for! I wanted one similar to the kind of chocolote chip pumpkin cookies you find in the bakery section of the grocery store. I love them! Perfect for anytime of year, but especially fall. Haven't tried it, but would be delicious with cream cheese frosting. Also, I'm going to try to freeze some, and eat them still cold...they seem like they would be delicious this way too! Very easy recipe, only 1 bowl to clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
Very Yummy! I like that it doesn't have crisco in it, and they are beautiful cookies! My family and friends loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilywise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
This is a great basic recipe. I'm a health nut so I replaced half the all-purpose flour with whole wheat pastry flour. I added 1 tsp. powdered ginger, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg and 1/4 tsp. cloves to solve the "kind of bland" problem noted in other reviews. I did reduce the pumpkin by 1-1/2 oz. because I was using a large can and needed the other half for pumpkin pie. I was able to cut the oil back to 3/4 of a cup as well. Everything still worked. If you replace the milk called for with 1/3 of a cup you can make muffins or pumpkin bread. (I spooned half the cookie batter as is into muffin tins and it worked but the batter was just a little too stiff.) I wouldn't waste my money on the store-bought cookies after trying these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
These get 5 stars after making some modifications. First, I increased the spices - didn't measure but I'll guess it was double the cinnamon + some ginger, nutmeg, and a tiny bit of cloves. Second, I used 1/2 white and 1/2 whole wheat flour. Third, I used a little extra pumpkin and a little less oil (plus the oil I used was extra virgin olive oil). Fourth, I cut back on the sugar by about 1/3 of a cup or maybe a bit more. Finally, I added in a handful of walnuts, a handful of raisins, & a handful of chocolate chips. These changes made for a perfectly spiced, moist, very pumpkiny, not too sweet, healthier version of the posted recipe. They were really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This was a good basic recipe. I usually like the gooey, moist pumpkin cookies and these ones were a little more cake-like and dry when I cooked them for 11 minutes. I tried taking them out at 9 minutes and that resulted in a really yummy, gooey cookie though I agree they did taste better with nuts. **Additional note. i put the batch of cookies in a ziplock bag and the next day they tasted SO MUCH better and were so much more moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly O

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This is one of the best "new" cookie recipes I have ever made! I did play with the recipie to make it taste like pumpkin pie...I swapped white chips for the chocolate, and added extra cinnamon. I also added dk brown sugar,cloves and nutmeg. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This cookies are so good!!! A friend made some delicious Pumpkin Chocolate Chip cookies for Halloween. They were fluffy and cakey. I looked for a similar recipe and this one is exactly it. I used a bit of whole wheat flour and a bit of brown sugar and added nutmeg. I put 6 big cookies on a sheet rather than 12 little ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States