Chocolate Chip Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2006
The first time I made Chocolate Chip Cookie Pie, I followed a recipe exactly like this one other than calling for 1 cup(!) of butter rather than 1/2 cup. It turned out very greasy. I also cooked it longer than 1 hour... until the center seemed set. This caused my butter-saturated crust to also be nearly burnt. 1/2 cup of butter worked out much better, the pie is rich but not oozing melted butter. I also only cooked for the specified hour. When still warm, the pie is goopy and not that good, but after chilling it sets up perfectly and tastes like chocolate chip cookies in pie form, so I definitely advise only cooking for an hour even if it seems underdone when you take it out of the oven (like pecan pie). Serve chilled with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
This was awesome. I followed the recipe exactly. I baked for exactly 60 minutes and it came out set and lovely. I sent it to work with my husband and he loved it. He said it was just like eating a chocolate chip cookie, only better, because it was nicely paired with the pie crust, which added a buttery, flaky flavor to it. (I had used butter-flavored shortening in the crust.) Thank you! ** Edit: I have made this several times now and it is always exceedingly well received. The last time, I tasted it myself and can say that it is quite delicious. It doesn't have the texture of a chocolate chip cookie in a pie shell; rather, the filling is more like the texture of a pecan pie, while it tastes like a chocolate chip cookie (from the semi-sweet chocolate). It is very decadent and would go famously served warm with ice cream or a little whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2001
I used walnuts instead of pecans because that's the way my mom always made it. This was perfect. My husband is from the city and I'm a country girl. When he first looked at it, he asked me what the hell it was. After he ate it, he was taken. Perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was really good, the whole family liked it. The second time I made it, I used only 3/4 cup of white sugar and 1/4 cup of brown sugar. I thought it added a little more flavor to the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
i would give this recipe 10 stars if i could. this pie is delicious! i've been making it for several years & everyone loves it. occasionally i haven't had the required chocolate chips and have used peanut butter chips, butterscotch chips or a mixture and while it DOES change the taste, it is still yummy! i like the pie a little "under done" as it comes out like warm cookie dough as opposed to a pie. that is perfection to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I made this to last the week....it didn't even last the weekend. We'll be making this again! I omitted the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
My husband and I found this to be way too sweet and not what we had in mind. I had a chocolate chip pie served to me about a year ago that was wonderful, and I've been on a mission since to recreate the recipe. This wasn't it. If I made this recipe again, I would use less white sugar, add in some brown, and use more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Soooooooo good! I decreased the sugar to 3/4 cup and used brown instead of white. I also increased the flour by 1/4 cup. It really does taste just like a chocolate chip cookie in a pie crust! My kids were in heaven. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
This should be a 3.5, We made this for a Christmas party. It was good, but not great. We used a pre-made graham cracker crust. We thought is was a little hard on the top, it was rather brittle. Not sure if a pastry crust would make it better or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKI61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Absolutely loved it! The only thing that I wasn't happy with was that the top of the pie was really dry and crumbled apart when I cut it. Other than that, DELICIOSO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blondi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States