Chocolate Chip Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
This was awesome. I followed the recipe exactly. I baked for exactly 60 minutes and it came out set and lovely. I sent it to work with my husband and he loved it. He said it was just like eating a chocolate chip cookie, only better, because it was nicely paired with the pie crust, which added a buttery, flaky flavor to it. (I had used butter-flavored shortening in the crust.) Thank you! ** Edit: I have made this several times now and it is always exceedingly well received. The last time, I tasted it myself and can say that it is quite delicious. It doesn't have the texture of a chocolate chip cookie in a pie shell; rather, the filling is more like the texture of a pecan pie, while it tastes like a chocolate chip cookie (from the semi-sweet chocolate). It is very decadent and would go famously served warm with ice cream or a little whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
The first time I made Chocolate Chip Cookie Pie, I followed a recipe exactly like this one other than calling for 1 cup(!) of butter rather than 1/2 cup. It turned out very greasy. I also cooked it longer than 1 hour... until the center seemed set. This caused my butter-saturated crust to also be nearly burnt. 1/2 cup of butter worked out much better, the pie is rich but not oozing melted butter. I also only cooked for the specified hour. When still warm, the pie is goopy and not that good, but after chilling it sets up perfectly and tastes like chocolate chip cookies in pie form, so I definitely advise only cooking for an hour even if it seems underdone when you take it out of the oven (like pecan pie). Serve chilled with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
Great! I used 2 shallow pie shells & baked for 30 minutes. An easier way to eat "chocolate chip cookies!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
We used to call this the "Kentucky Derby" pie. Only difference is decreasing the nuts to 1/2-3/4 cup. I also use 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips with 1/2 cup semisweet choc. chips. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
This pie is extremely rich, and it had more of a taste of a pecan pie bar than a chocolate chip cookie. I personally won't make it again, but my family and friends seemed to enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
This was sooooooooo good!!!! NUMMY NUMMY NUMMY!!!! I ate 3 pieces in one sitting!!! NUMMY!!! Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMCL1994

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
WARNING - NOT FOR THOSE WHO JUST TOLERATE CHOCOLATE! This wonderful pie is rich, filling and extremely addictive! I served it warm with vanilla ice cream on top and a drizzle of caramel sauce (ice cream topping). It was an instant hit and several of my guests requested the receipe. I'm glad that I made the pie slices smaller because of the richness of this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
I cooked the pie, but it seemed like it needed more sugar and it wasn't sweet enough. I had to take it out early (15 minutes), because it started to burn. It wasn't as gooey as i thought it would be, but overall it was an easy recipe to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmp234

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
great, simple recipe. very kid friendly too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
This pie was really easy and tasted great! My family really liked it. I'll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States