Chocolate Chip Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Deeeeelicious pie! I was searching for a recipe to use up some extra refrigerated pie crusts and chocolate chips and found this! Made 4 in the last week. (We entertain a lot) Changes that made it over the top...you must use 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2 to 1 cup nuts. I used 1 cup chopped walnuts. EVERYONE loved and raved over this pie. Very simple, very quick and very delicious. Used a mixer the first time, but used a wire wisk the 2nd, 3rd and 4th times. You can't go wrong with this one if you love chocolate, nuts and the taste of a chocolate chip cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DM COOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I too enjoyed this pie but made the following changes - 1/4c white and 3/4c brown sugar, mixed the chips 1/3c each, peanut butter, wh choc & semi. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This was prety good. It came out very moist and chocolate chips in every bite. I did use brown sugar instead of white and threw a teaspoon of vanilla extract. I left out the nuts because the kids usually complain. It's fast and easy to make and won't last long in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I love this pie. I use to make it and lost the recipe. Thank you for sharing it! I thought I use to add vanilla favoring but maybe I was mistaken . Again thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
My 4 year old daughter hated it, my husband thought it was ok but didn't want to take it to his co-workers. Made this recipe as written and no one in my house wanted much of it. Might try it again with suggested changes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Camden, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This was GREAT!!! The only change I made (per other reviews) was to use 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. It is very rich and so EASY to make. I love recipes with simple ingredients and this one pays offs! I made 2 pies and we ate the first while it was warm with icecream, whipped cream, and syrup. It was extremely rich - so cut small pieces if you eat it this way. The next day it was GREAT cold. I think I actually prefer it cooled because I like the chocolate when it's more solid vs melted. Can't go wrong with this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I made this for a school project: Make a dish from your favorite state. I was surfing the web for a kentucky dessert without bourbon and came across this. Since someone posted a comment saying the traditional kentucky derby pie and this were similar, I decided to do this. SO GLAD I DID!!!!! Everyone loved it (I served it with vanilla ice cream)! I did stick it in the fridge overnight, which made it taste kind of like a cookie rather than the brownie-like flavor it has when the chocolate chips were melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LeahD
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This was pretty yummy. Very sweet though. I did the 1/2 brown sugar 1/2 white sugar thing and excluded the nuts and baked it for about an hour and ten minutes and it came out pretty good. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
This pie is absolutely delicious. I altered the recipe a bit by using 1 cup of brown sugar and a tsp of vanilla. Topped warm pie with vanilla ice cream and it was rich and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was great. I made mini-pies in muffin cups rather than one large pie. My 9-inch pie crust recipe and the filling made 10 muffin sized servings. This really helped cut down on the 1 hour baking time. I'll make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States