Chocolate Chip Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Deeeeelicious pie! I was searching for a recipe to use up some extra refrigerated pie crusts and chocolate chips and found this! Made 4 in the last week. (We entertain a lot) Changes that made it over the top...you must use 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2 to 1 cup nuts. I used 1 cup chopped walnuts. EVERYONE loved and raved over this pie. Very simple, very quick and very delicious. Used a mixer the first time, but used a wire wisk the 2nd, 3rd and 4th times. You can't go wrong with this one if you love chocolate, nuts and the taste of a chocolate chip cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DM COOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I too enjoyed this pie but made the following changes - 1/4c white and 3/4c brown sugar, mixed the chips 1/3c each, peanut butter, wh choc & semi. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This was prety good. It came out very moist and chocolate chips in every bite. I did use brown sugar instead of white and threw a teaspoon of vanilla extract. I left out the nuts because the kids usually complain. It's fast and easy to make and won't last long in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I love this pie. I use to make it and lost the recipe. Thank you for sharing it! I thought I use to add vanilla favoring but maybe I was mistaken . Again thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
My 4 year old daughter hated it, my husband thought it was ok but didn't want to take it to his co-workers. Made this recipe as written and no one in my house wanted much of it. Might try it again with suggested changes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Camden, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This was GREAT!!! The only change I made (per other reviews) was to use 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. It is very rich and so EASY to make. I love recipes with simple ingredients and this one pays offs! I made 2 pies and we ate the first while it was warm with icecream, whipped cream, and syrup. It was extremely rich - so cut small pieces if you eat it this way. The next day it was GREAT cold. I think I actually prefer it cooled because I like the chocolate when it's more solid vs melted. Can't go wrong with this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I made this for a school project: Make a dish from your favorite state. I was surfing the web for a kentucky dessert without bourbon and came across this. Since someone posted a comment saying the traditional kentucky derby pie and this were similar, I decided to do this. SO GLAD I DID!!!!! Everyone loved it (I served it with vanilla ice cream)! I did stick it in the fridge overnight, which made it taste kind of like a cookie rather than the brownie-like flavor it has when the chocolate chips were melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LeahD
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This was pretty yummy. Very sweet though. I did the 1/2 brown sugar 1/2 white sugar thing and excluded the nuts and baked it for about an hour and ten minutes and it came out pretty good. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
This pie is absolutely delicious. I altered the recipe a bit by using 1 cup of brown sugar and a tsp of vanilla. Topped warm pie with vanilla ice cream and it was rich and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was great. I made mini-pies in muffin cups rather than one large pie. My 9-inch pie crust recipe and the filling made 10 muffin sized servings. This really helped cut down on the 1 hour baking time. I'll make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States