Chocolate Chip Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This is a family favorite that a friend in England made for us the first time 12 years ago. The key to success in this pie is to beat the eggs for at least 2 minutes before adding the rest of the ingredients. Otherwise the pie separates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Delicious! Family loved it. The only change I made was the BUTTER. Listened to another viewer and cut the butter down to stick and a half. Next time, will use a graham cracker crust and milk chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I doubled the recipe and used two deep dish crusts. I used the full amount of butter and everyone loved the pie; no one felt it was over buttered. In fact, I gave one of the pies to my teens; it was devoured. The other was for some colleagues that I had over . They are from Mexico and Peru and loved it. They thought that it was " really American" and took the left over slices back to their hotel. I recommend it as a special treat; it is too rich for every day :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This was really good. However, I found that it was too much filling for my pie crust (frozen store bought.) I actually ended up with a mess in my oven because I put too much of the filling into the pie shell. My guests all enjoyed it, though and I will make it again, I'm sure. The only changes I made were to use pecans instead of walnuts, and I bought a crust rather than made one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Sorry, but we did not enjoy this. Just can't put my finger on what was wrong, but it didn't seem like a good combination of ingredients. I really wanted to like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~MOMMY~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Good, but not great - there are better "kentucky / derby pie" type recipes on the site. This one turned out like a big, unbalanced chocolate chip cookie, with all the chocolate on the bottom and a bland, soft cookie on top. Used walnuts, but suspect that pecans would have added some needed richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Buttery, chocolatey goodness! I did what another review suggested and put a little less butter, and I added a few drops of almond extract. We loved it! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I loved this recipe. I did not have a pie crust but followed the rest of the recipe. It turned out wonderful. It baked in about 40 to 45 minutes without the crust. It was so good I will make it this way again. Eat it warm with vanilla ice cream and you'll want seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Tastes like a big cookie in a pie. I only added 1 stick of butter. Also, when pie was done, I added addtl choc chips to the top and spread out like frosting. Only bad thing is the chips seems to settle at the bottom during baking. Anyway - big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This is a great dessert. Easy to make and always a crowd pleaser!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States