Chocolate Chip Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ASHTRASH
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I LOVE this recipe...I've made this the last 3 Thanksgivings (and also to impress a cute boy...totally worked) and it has gotten rave reviews. I'm not a huge pie person, but I LOVED this. It is so rich and delicious. I changed a few things - I omitted the nuts and 1/4 c. butter and used a large-sized graham cracker crust (because I hate pastry crust.) TIP: Many people complain that the chips sink to the bottom. With about 20 minutes left to cook, I just dropped about 20-30 additional chocolate chips on top of the pie. These didn't sink and made it look like a giant chocolate-chip cookie. Way cute...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
Since I don't like chocolate much, I can only base this on my husband's reaction. He LOVED it! He claims it is one of the best pies he has ever eaten!! I was very skeptical as it was cooking, because it took about fifteen minutes longer than the recipe called for, and it looked strange when it came out of the oven (very shiny and smooth, and an odd tan color--not what I was expecting). It actually created a layer pie--the chocolate sunk to the bottom, and created a chewy layer over the top. Based on my husband's reaction, I think I'll have to make this pie again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
My niece was raving about a Tollhouse Chocolate chip pie she had when on vacation this year. We decided to look for a recipe and try.. after reading the many reviews we settled on this one. Jasmine Decided this was this was the best she's tasted. We had the caramel sauce on the warm pie with vanilla Ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This pie got raves at our local Pie Auction.... I had many phone calls for the recipe! It did overflow a bit in the oven, next time I'll put a cookie sheet under it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This pie is just fantastic. So rich and delicious will definitely be one I will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
Wow! The word of the night on Thanksgiving was "sinful" (honestly - about 4 people used that same word!)I bought crusts that came in a 2-pack to make Pumpkin Pie, thus had 1 crust left over. Pulled up good 'ol Allrecipes to see if there was something I could make with what I already had on hand and voila! This was the hit of the night and embarassingly EASY! I will use a deep dish pie shell next time (the contents oozed over onto the roasting pan in the oven) and I used mostly milk chocolate chips, with some semi-sweet; used pecans instead of walnuts based on what was on hand - my favorite pie now! Thanks for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
Great recipe! I used pecans since I didnt have walnuts and only used 1/2 a cup. A whole cup would have been too much, for my tastes anyway. I could not get enough of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I made this the other day and it was awful. I followed the directions exactly but after 1 hour and 30min. it was still not cook inside. I don't know what happened but very dissappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
It's good and easy to make; I went by suggestions of others and used a graham cracker crust and deeper pie dish. It has too much butter. It was bubbling up at the sides; I poured some of it out by tilting the dish. If taking to parties, it's easier to just make chocolate chip cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
Just like a big chocolate chip cookie with a smoother texture. Very rich and very good. It was best warm with vanilla ice cream. All of my chocolate chips sank to the bottom of the pie. I'm not sure if there is any way to avoid that though. Still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States